Introducing T. D. Harvey

TDHarvey

Today on Paws4Thought I’m happy to welcome Shades of Fear author T.D. Harvey. Tell us a little bit about yourself.

My name is T. D. Harvey, but you can call me Tee. I live in Hampshire, which is on the south coast of England. I’ve been writing all my life, but in spring 2013, I decided to get serious. Since then I have had three stories published and have many more scheduled for this year. My writing is generally dark fiction, but can go in any direction. I am a discovery writer. I make no plans, nor do I plot my characters’ journeys. I simply sit at the keyboard and write. It’s a wonderful experience, but it makes editing a nightmare.

My writing time is limited. I work full time as a Business Analyst—a job I very much enjoy. However, my dream is to drop my hours and concentrate more on my writing, perhaps even write full time. I also have to make room for my chronic pain condition, Fibromyalgia, that can make me too ill to write. So, I scribble at every opportunity; in my lunch break, whilst waiting for a doctor’s appointment, when I am unable to rest at night and when my partner is out of the house and I have some peace and quiet.

How did you get involved with Shades of Fear?

I am a member of the Facebook group Write-On Nanos, having signed up for NaNoWriMo last year. When the idea for this anthology was floated, I couldn’t resist getting involved. There’s a wonderfully eclectic mix of writers in the group and I am excited to be published alongside them.

Who are your favorite authors?

My favourite authors are varied.

Mark Tufo (Zombie Fallout series) is a fabulous storyteller and an inspiration for Indie writers. He has built a loyal fan base by developing a relationship with his readers. He’s someone an aspiring Indie writer can learn from.

Tell us a bit about your story Hunting Season?

Hunting Season is set in a disused Royal Air Force airfield. My protagonist, Emma Grainger, wakes to find herself bound and in total darkness. She has to find her way to safety and figure out why she has been kidnapped, and by whom. For me, fear is about feeling unsafe in a place of safety, or in this case, being put into a situation that you don’t understand and cannot find an easy way out of.

What inspires you to write?

Life, the universe and everything. I was recently driving to work and a single word inspired me to write a story the moment I stopped the car. I keep pens and pads with me at all times because I never know what will trigger a new idea.

If you could meet anyone living or dead who would it be?

William Shakespeare. I have loved his plays since I was in school. He was a tremendous study of the human condition and that enabled him to write timeless stories.

What are your own greatest fears and how do you deal with them?

I suffer from a chronic illness that severely affects my ability to live a normal life. Many of my fears stem from my physical inability to do things. However, I’m no quitter and will always find a way to work through my fear—even if it takes me a little time to manage it.

Tell us about the other anthologies you are part of?

I was first published in ‘Flash It!’ an unthemed, international flash fiction anthology. My two stories are, ‘The Story of Billy Jamieson’ and ‘Retribution’. Writing flash fiction is a great way to hone your skills as a writer. Every word must be evaluated for its relevance and cut if it comes up wanting. I love that.

FlashItCover

In June I will be published in another unthemed anthology, ‘Anything Goes’. This is a wonderful writers’ workshop with peer editing and all authors working together to publish a fabulous collection of stories. It’s an incredible learning experience and a joy to be a part of. My story is called, ‘Harvest’.

In December I will be published in ‘Writers’ Anarchy III: Heroes and Villains’ and am very excited to be published with such a variety of talented authors. My story, ‘A Girl’s Best Friend’ isn’t your typical hero story, but is heroic nonetheless.

I am also working on stories for a fairy tale therapy anthology, dark fairy tales and fables anthology and An Anthology of Pants—which has been enormous fun in its silliness. I am also organising a charity anthology, written by sufferers, to raise money and awareness of life with Fibromyalgia.

What do you like to do to relax?

With physical activities no longer open to me, my relaxation often comes from TV, movies and audiobooks. I also have two Tonkinese cats and three tropical fish tanks. I like to grow my own vegetables too and my partner has built a greenhouse and garden on stilts so no bending down or digging for me!

AnnetteCat1AnnetteCat3AnnetteCat2

We love kitties here at Paws4Thought. Tell us a little about your furry friends Tee.

This is Kai and Kike (pronounced Keekay). Kai is the creme. They’re brother and sister, 3 year old, Tonkinese. (Kai means sandy or white in Swahili and Kike means feminine in Swahili.) They are our babies! We even have cat shelves built along one side of our living room and a run in the garden.

What are you currently working on?

Aside from the anthologies I’ve mentioned, I am currently rewriting and editing my first novel, ‘Paper Dragons and Shadow Demons’. It is the dark fiction/fantasy story of a young girl with a very vivid imagination. It revolves around the things all children are afraid of—the monster under the bed—and is loosely based on my own childhood. I hope to publish by the end of 2014.

(Great title and concept. We all look forward to reading it. DMK)

How can readers connect with you?

I have a Facebook Author’s page here: https://www.facebook.com/T.D.HarveyAuthor

I also have a blog here: http://tdharveyauthor.wordpress.com/

I love to connect with my readers, and I look forward to meeting more of them. If you wish to contact me directly, my email address is t.d.harvey.author@gmail.com

 

Thank you for taking your time to answer my questions Tee.

Pick up your copy of “Shades of Fear” in paperback and ebook from Amazon today.

UK readers can pick up a paperback copy at Amazon UK.

ShadesofFear

7 thoughts on “Introducing T. D. Harvey

  1. Pingback: Meet me and my cats! | T. D. Harvey Author

  2. Pingback: Meet me and my cats! | T.D. Harvey Author

Leave a Reply

