The Paperback is live, the Kindle edition is coming soon

Long-awaited new release from Misha Burnett. I personally cannot wait to read it 🙂

mishaburnett

At long last Bad Dreams & Broken Hearts is out in paperback.

The Kindle edition has been uploaded and should be available in a few days.

It’s been an interesting process.

Generally when I write the pieces all either come together and jell right away, or they never do.

I first invented the city of Dracoheim and the Settled Lands and the Realms of Nightmare for another project altogether.

The first project that I called Bad Dreams & Broken Hearts was a novel, and it was a deliberate attempt to write a Rodger Zelazny-style mythic adventure, with an immortal character who interacted with Gods and Monsters. I had a main character who I named Sam, after the protagonist of Lord Of Light. He was the son of a Lord of Nightmare, and I was trying for a Noir/Fantasy spin on Little Nemo In Slumberland.

Well, I finished that novel…

View original post 545 more words

Advertisements

Wanda’s Wand – an early review

WandaWandKindleCover

Woke up to an awesome five star review on Readers’ Favorite for my upcoming picture book, Wanda’s Wand.

“Independence is a good thing, but sometimes we’re all just a little too independent. When something goes wrong or gets broken, we feel compelled to fix the problem ourselves. But sometimes our fixer-uppers just don’t work right. That’s what happened to Wanda. While playing with her cat, Whiskey, Wanda Wizzlewoop (I love the last name, great alliteration!) broke her wand. She concocts a means to fix it, but her fixer-upper wand does everything backward, upside down and really strange – like casting a spell to stop the rain and instead it rains frogs and toads. Not exactly what Wanda had in mind. Upset, she’s startled when Whiskey asks her what’s wrong and then informs her, quite simply, that “it’s okay to ask for help”. And it is okay. Something we all need to do from time to time.

“Deborah Kupfer’s picture book story, Wanda’s Wand, is a fun read. Young readers will find Wanda’s situation both sad and, at times, rather funny. Accompanied by colorful illustrations by artist Tina Wijesiri, the story is full of silliness as Wanda’s situation worsens with each attempt to make use of her broken (and then mended) wand. Part of growing up is learning how to fix things, how to solve problems, but it’s also about learning to ask for and accept help when the need arises. A powerful message shared with the love and compassion of a young witch and her treasured cat. The language is simple to appeal to young readers and may also be used as a read-along, early reader for those beginning to read.”

Thank you Emily-Jane Hills Orford for Readers’ Favorite
If anyone would like a PDF ARC for review let me know.
WandaWrap

A Thief & a Gentlewoman

51wl95qz2b8l

Need something new to read? Check this out.

In the palace, enemies hide around every corner. And some are done waiting.

Posing as an aristocrat, Quin lives by three rules: rob from the rich, give to the poor and never get caught. Because for her crimes, the penalty is death.

Royal, charming, and handsome, Atesh is her latest mark, but he’s no fool. When he starts seeing through her disguise, Quin’s forced to balance lie upon truth, teetering dangerously close to spilling her secrets.

After a shocking murder strikes at the heart of the palace, Atesh is wrongly arrested. Quin must choose between saving an innocent man from the gallows and keeping the noose from her own neck.

This gripping fantasy adventure with action, intrigue, and a dash of romance, is perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Leigh Bardugo.

Read A Thief & a Gentlewoman today to discover a world where cards control magic, the past won’t stay buried, and no one is what they seem.

On sale for just 99 cents!

About the author

Clare Sager is a lifelong fantasy reader, former English teacher, and corsetière.
Her fate was set the day she was gifted a DragonLance graphic novel – after that, there was no hope for her to be anything other than a fantasy author.
When she’s not writing, she can be found reading, making corsets, obsessing over the 18th century, or laughing at cats/photos of cats.
She lives in Nottingham, Robin Hood country, so it’s no surprise she writes about a character who robs from the rich to give to the poor.

Archon 43 – Highlights

Just got back from Archon St. Louis. This is my fourth year attending and my third attending with my son Joey. We had an amazing weekend. I was on five panels and also sold books in Author Alley. This was my first time in Author Alley (previously I’d been in the Huckster room) and I liked it. I liked watching the world go by.

Archon table

On the first day I was a little worried that they would just go back and not stop and chat about books. I needn’t have worried. Oodles of folks came by including familiar faces from last year and new friends. There was one wonderful woman who showed me all her kitty pictures (I will never say no to kitty pictures!). They were the cosplayers that stopped and chatted like this one from my favorite book – Good Omens and even a huge dinosaur that stumbled up and down the corridor.

Crowley  dinosaur

And then the best bit (at least for me and Joey). On Saturday afternoon we got to transform into enraged Plutonians and run a puzzle hunt over at the Doubletree hotel. It was awesome. Sixty people in nine teams worked their way through the puzzles and even learned (and sang) the Plutonian national anthem along the way.

MoreSolvers Solvers

Sunday morning’s panel was storytime in children’s programming. I read my upcoming book Wanda’s Wand which Jessica Mathews read her new book The Lazy Vampire. The audience was small (just one little girl and a few adults) and for the last book instead of us reading the little girl took a turn and read my book, The Great Bobbert aloud to us!

Girl with Bobbert

So that was it. On Sunday we finally trudged back home, tired and a little sad it was all over. Thank you to everyone who came out to see us. I’ll be running my puzzle hunt on my sister page Paws 4 Puzzles over Chanukah in December. For now it’s time to get back to Pluto!

PlutoDressBehind

Oh, one more thing – today is the last day to pick up the P.A.W.S. Saga for just 99 cents/99p each!

Catch up on the P.A.W.S. Saga

 

P.A.W.S. Sale!

A little reminder via Kayla Matt’s awesome blog that the P.A.W.S. Saga is still sale for 99 cents each for just today and tomorrow. Also make sure you check out Kayla’s awesome pics of some of my characters at the bottom of the post.

Welcome to Hell Bent

October, it seems, is a great time for book sales! Today and tomorrow, the entirety of the P.A.W.S. saga is on sale for 99 cents per book. So that’s 5 books for under $5, including the NEWEST release Cotula

So, if you’re a fan of shifters, animagi, werewolves, and all sorts of magic, check out The P.A.W.S. Saga!

BOOK 1

When Miri receives a silver cat charm from her omama, Celia, on the night before Celia dies she has no idea that the charm holds a secret, a powerful magic that saved her omama’s life and is about to make Miri’s a whole lot more interesting.

Join Miri on a mysterious and supernatural journey with her new friends, members of an underground St. Louis society known as the Partnership for Animagi, Werewolves, and Shapeshifters, better known as P.A.W.S.

BOOK 2

Argentum is the thread that binds all magic …

View original post 591 more words

Archon and a 99 cents sale

werewolf promo

Hi folks, I’m off to ARCHON this weekend with my son and co-puzzler, Joey and my friend and author and youtuber, Steven Thomas.

We’ll have a table in Author Alley plus you can find us at a number of cool panels throughout the weekend.

On Friday evening at 8pm learn to Publish Your Book (Without Spending a Fortune) in Marquette B (Gateway Center) with Steven Thomas. Steve has run this seminar in many locations around St. Louis and St. Charles and is now taking it to Archon. You can also pick up some of Steve’s awesome action adventure novels from our table in Author Alley.

On Saturday morning (10:00 am – Doubletree Madison C&D) Steve will also be joining me, Jennifer Lynn, and TW Fendley in a panel about Audio Book Creation.

61kwzjime9l._sx342_  51nwddugtwl._sx342_

Who likes puzzles? A few years ago at Archon, Joey and I ran a successful panel about puzzle construction. This year we’re back, but instead of learning about puzzles we’re running an interactive puzzle event, ESCAPE FROM ARCHON. It seems the Plutonians have got news that the people of Earth do not take the planet as seriously as they should, so they’re journeying to Archon to help educate the Earthlings.

Come join is in Madison C/D at the Doubletree at 4:00 pm to help save planet Earth.

paws_4_logic_cover_for_kindle

Back over to the Gateway Center (Marquette A 6:00pm) and I will be joining Jennifer Lynn, Jessica Matthews and TW Fendley for a panel about Speculative Fiction for Children and Teens.

Finally on Sunday morning I’ll be reading stories with Jessica Matthews in Children’s Programming at 11:00 am. Come listen to my brand new tale, WANDA’S WAND and take home your own wand and coloring sheet. Unfortunately I won’t have copies available for sale yet, but I will be taking preorders.

WandaWrap

Not able to make it for ARCHON?

Well just for this weekend I have all my P.A.W.S. Saga books on sale for just 99 cents each on Kindle.

Catch up on the P.A.W.S. Saga

 

Picture Book News

Cecilia's Tale Front

I’m proud to announce that Cecilia of CECILIA’S TALE has won runner up in the Stephen Memorial award for Distinctive Cats 2019.

Cecilia was chosen for “Learning to survive and thrive in this world.”

If you haven’t already read her story you can pick it up on Amazon or purchase a signed copy from me on this site.

Or if you happen to be at ARCHON this weekend come see me in Author Alley or in my storytime with Jessica Adams on Sunday morning in Children’s Programming.

WandaWrap

Next up, meet little witch, Wanda and her cat Whiskey.  Wanda’s story will be released on Guy Fawkes Day, November 5th but is now up for presale.

Preorder the Kindle version on Amazon 

OR preorder a signed paperback from me here. I also have an awesome bundle available of ALL my picture books.

I will be reading WANDA’S WAND and CECILIA’S TALE at Archon on Sunday morning. Hope to see some of you there.

42ff7d5e-0c86-48cc-803e-3dbf47bb0b31