Author Spotlight: George Sirois

Over on the YAAR blog an interview with my friend George Sirois. George and I will be running two panels together in the fall in audio book creation at Archon and at the Central St. Louis City Library.

YA Author Rendezvous

george sirois - authorInterview by Michelle Lynn.

An interview with George Siroiswww.georgesirois.com

What are the titles of your works, and can you tell us a bit about them?

“Excelsior” is a young adult / science-fiction novel, the first part of a trilogy. It tells the story of 17-year-old Matthew Peters, who has been spending seven years writing and drawing his own webcomic about a character named Excelsior, who is from the faraway planet Denab IV. Matthew is visited by an older woman who tells him that she is from planet Denab IV, and everything he has been writing and drawing have actually taken place. So now, with Excelsior’s enemies growing in power on both Denab IV and Earth, Matthew realizes that he has the opportunity to become the hero that he thought only existed in his imagination.

“From Parts Unknown” is a five-part science-fiction / sports serial that is currently…

View original post 2,540 more words

Spell Slinger – Free this week!

51bo8xtlbml

Proper lady by day.
Evil fighting vigilante by night.

Yara Ortuso always knew she’d follow in her father’s footsteps as a Spell Slinger–until her mother sold her off as a concubine to a lord, after a forbidden romance.

Yara would have served her time as a wife to keep her family safe, but when King Loric sets a decree to abolish magic, she has no choice but to make plans for her escape.

Her best friend–a crow shifter named Hero is just what she needs. Yara vows to end the reign of murder and tyranny. But when the skeleton key transports Yara to a distant future, she must adapt to this new world.

The future is an alluring and mysterious place, where the effects of a world without magic is apparent by the rise in supernatural activity–and King Loric still lives.

New York Times & USA Today bestselling author, K.N. Lee presents Spell Slinger, a sci-fi fantasy romance fans are comparing to anime meets epic-fantasy. Follow Yara’s epic journey in this futuristic fast-paced steampunk adventure perfect for fans of Gail Carriger and Branden Sanderson!

FREE this week on Kindle. I’ve got my copy – go get yours🙂

Precipitous Brew (5)

cauldron

Occasionally when I’m out I have a random idea for a scene far ahead in the P.A.W.S. saga. All kinds of things inspire such scenes and in this case it was a cryptic crossword clue I created – “Precipitous Brew” – the clue is a double definition. Both parts of it lead to the same answer. I’ll leave the answer off the post in case you’d like to guess it.

Anyhow I gazed at that clue and thought what a wonderful character name it would make, and then started thinking who Mr. Brew would be. I decided that Precipitous is Hugo Hogswarth’s counterpart in the London P.A.W.S. Institute that is hidden deep within Hampstead Heath. Now in a future P.A.W.S. episode Miri will visit London P.A.W.S. and encounter Precipitous Brew.

Here’s a little snippet of their first meeting:

(In the kitchen at the P.A.W.S. Institute of London in Hampstead Heath.)

Precipitous Brew stirred the soup. The cauldron bubbled ominously. “Needs more mustard,” he muttered.

“Oh Hello, what can I do for you?”

“I was looking for the mugwort,” said Miri, “Professor Holdum sent me.”

“Mugwort … mugwort. Can you hold this please?” He beckoned Mir forward and with some trepidation she grabbed for the large wooden spoon that rocked back and forth in its lumpy green ocean.

“Is that pea soup?” asked Miri, peering into the cauldron.

“Ah yes, its traditional, you know … NO! NO! Widdershins. You must stir it widdershins. Oh for a wizzlewoop.” Precipitous Brew stepped back from his cauldron, closed his eyes and sighed.

PAWSLondon

Soft Kitty, Black Kitty, Meow, Meow, Meow!

blackcatwhitewhisker

It’s Black Cat Appreciation Day and I’ve always really appreciated black kitties. Growing up in London my mum always said  black cats were lucky especially if they crossed your path, so when a pretty black kitty, all black with one white whisker, came to live with us, I guessed we were now the luckiest folk on the street.

We called her Snowy for that one white whisker and she was truly the sweetest cat. I spend many hours with her curled up on my lap not wanting to move as I didn’t want to disturb my purring furball.

When I created Miri’s cat form in P.A.W.S. I used Snowy as my model. So Miri when she’s feline is all black with one white whisker.

Give black cats a little love today (and everyday!) and if you share your life with a black kitty I’d love to see a picture in the comments.

 

Oh and Miri’s story, P.A.W.S. is on sale this week for just 99 cents/99p on Kindle.

Debbie Mamber Kupfer - PAWS

Freebie Friday – Alistair

alistair

 

“Maybe I am,” said Alistair, “But there are monsters worse than me in this world. You are lucky, Joshua; lucky you have me to protect you. I was not so fortunate.” Alistair took a long breath in and exhaled slowly, “neither was my mother . . .”

A short story from world of P.A.W.S.

It’s Freebie Friday – today only pick up a free copy of Alistair on Kindle over on Amazon

Also if anyone would like a code for a free copy of the audio book narrated by the awesome Matt Lovell comment on this post – the first three commenters will win an audio book code..

Miri Katz (of P.A.W.S. by Debbie Manber Kupfer)

Miri was interviewed on “The Protagonist Speaks” – take a look.

The Protagonist Speaks

Debbie Mamber Kupfer - PAWSDear readers, tonight with me is a young woman, who following her grandmother’s death had uncovered some dark family secrets. Forced into a boarding school and taunted by bullies, her heirloom opens new possibilities for her.

What do you remember of your parents and grandmother? Was there ever a clue that your family might be different?

I was brought up by my omama (grandmother) Celia Katz. My mother Nora left me with her wrapped in a blue shawl shortly after I was born and I’ve never seen her since. I don’t know who my father was.

It doesn’t matter though as I loved growing up with Omama. She came originally from Vienna and used to make these wonderful Viennese cakes. When I think back to it I think maybe there was magic in those desserts – I’ve tried to bake cakes like hers and never succeeded. I miss Omama a lot. She…

View original post 1,020 more words

Fiona McVie – The Mistress of Interviews Interviewed

A while back I was interviewed by Fiona McVie. You can find my interview here: https://authorsinterviews.wordpress.com//?s=Debbie+Manber+Kupfer&search=Go
But here is an interview with Fiona🙂

She Who Blogs

FionaMcVieInterviewer

Recently She Who Blogs traveled electronically across The Pond to interview one of Scotland’s premier interviewers: Fiona McVie. Her blog authorsinterviews is well-known among writers and readers communities on WordPress and throughout the blogosphere. To date she has interviewed over 3,350 authors – with many more to come. Enjoy.

Can you tell us a little about yourself?
Hi I am Fiona. I am a single mum of four children and 4 grandchildren. I was born in Germany due to dad being in the British army, and at the age of 12 we settled in Scotland where I have lived ever since.

Did spending time in Germany influence your life?
No as up till I was 12 I moved a lot. Not only did I live in Germany; I also lived in Hong Kong, Singapore, Cyprus, and Malaysia.

Do you travel much of any now?
No, not now.

Your comments section is filled…

View original post 1,120 more words