40 Odd Things About Me . . .

It’s NaNoWriMo time and as I’ve got my daily word count in I decided to reward myself with a little bit of fun. A friend of mine on Facebook posted this thingy and invited others to join it, but it seemed too much fun to just use as a throwaway FB post so I decided to make a blog post for it instead. So here are …

40 odd things about me . . .

PlutoDressBehind

1. Do you like mustard?

Don’t hate it, but prefer mayo.

2. Choice of carbonated beverage?

Seltzer in citrus flavors – I’m picky. Also I haven’t liked soda since I gave it up when I was pregnant with my daughter.

3. Do you own a gun?

Absolutely not – hate guns and even avoid them in my fiction if I can. Would rather have a wand for defense! 

4. What’s your favorite music?

Lots and lots – I have very eclectic taste in music from rock and punk to Gilbert and Sullivan opera and show tunes! 

5. Hot dogs or Cheeseburgers?

Veggie burgers – and in particular Impossible Burgers from Burger King.

6. Favorite Type Of Food?

Cheesecake.

Best-Cheesecake-Recipe-2-1-of-1-7

7. Do you believe in ghosts?

Nope – but they’re fun to write about.

8. What do you drink in the morning?

Tea – hot, strong and with milk.

TeaChocKitty

9. Can you do a 100 Pushups?

NOOOOO!!!! Not ever!

10. Summer, Winter, Spring, Or Fall?

Spring.

11. Favorite things to do?

Read, write, do puzzles, play board and card games, go to concerts with my daughter.

12. Tattoos?

No – I’m scared of needles. Though if I wasn’t I’d get a black kitty or a pawprint.

13. Do you wear glasses?

Yes.

14. Phobia?

Heights – in particular when there’s a chance I could fall. I have a bad sense of balance.

15. Nickname?

The kids call me “Person”.

16. Three drinks you drink?

Tea, Beer and Seltzer.

17. Biggest downfall?

Have fallen quite a bit (see the balance thing)

18. Rain or Snow?

Neither!

19. Piercings?

Nope, same reason as the tattoos.

20. Age?

Old enough to know better

23. Number of children?

2 plus 2 furry children!

24. Favorite color?

Purple

25. Employed?

Self-employed – writer, puzzler, and editor.

26. Can you whistle?

A little.

27. Where were you born?

London

LondiniumBusPromo

28. Brothers or sisters?

Nope.

29. Ever Been Arrested?

No.

30. Surgeries?

Quite a few

31. Religious?

No. Agnostic Jew.

32. Shower or Bath?

Shower – don’t remember the last time I took a bath.

33. Like gambling?

Nah.

34. Are You Loyal?

Very much so.

35. Broken bones?

Thankfully no.

36. How many TVs in your house?

2 that work.

37. Worst pain ever?

The prep for my breast cancer surgery. It was actually a worse pain than childbirth.

BigCPromoCover

38. Do you like to dance?

Yeah, especially at concerts where I embarrass my daughter!

39. Are your parents still alive?

No, my dad died in 2011 and my mum at the end of last year.

40. Do you like camping?

Didn’t mind when I was a kid. Nowadays I prefer a nice hotel!

 

So that’s me!

 

Halloween Flash Fiction and Assorted Free Books!

f57fc5c7-4ec7-48f4-ae98-fd78ba8ad508

Who Doesn’t Like Free Books?!

So, some of the authors from the awesome FB group,

 Fantasy and Sci-Fi Readers Lounge

all got together and put together a special treat for you! Free books!

That’s right, just follow the link below to get your hands on some of the best free Fantasy and SciFi the group has to offer!

https://storyoriginapp.com/…/928c9b0e-e52f-11e9-84d4-f3a8f0…

Also included in this giveaway is a free copy of FSFRL Halloween Flash Fiction! This is the first Episode of a series of Flash Fiction books we plan to put out as a thank you for following us! You can grab a copy of that here:

https://storyoriginapp.com/…/b69d69ce-e93a-11e9-949f-9b3659…

*All books are offered free in exchange for subscribing to the author’s newsletter, so give each author a try! What perfect way to find your next favorite author than by getting a free book?*

Happy Early Halloween!

The Paperback is live, the Kindle edition is coming soon

Long-awaited new release from Misha Burnett. I personally cannot wait to read it 🙂

mishaburnett

At long last Bad Dreams & Broken Hearts is out in paperback.

The Kindle edition has been uploaded and should be available in a few days.

It’s been an interesting process.

Generally when I write the pieces all either come together and jell right away, or they never do.

I first invented the city of Dracoheim and the Settled Lands and the Realms of Nightmare for another project altogether.

The first project that I called Bad Dreams & Broken Hearts was a novel, and it was a deliberate attempt to write a Rodger Zelazny-style mythic adventure, with an immortal character who interacted with Gods and Monsters. I had a main character who I named Sam, after the protagonist of Lord Of Light. He was the son of a Lord of Nightmare, and I was trying for a Noir/Fantasy spin on Little Nemo In Slumberland.

Well, I finished that novel…

View original post 545 more words

Wanda’s Wand – an early review

WandaWandKindleCover

Woke up to an awesome five star review on Readers’ Favorite for my upcoming picture book, Wanda’s Wand.

“Independence is a good thing, but sometimes we’re all just a little too independent. When something goes wrong or gets broken, we feel compelled to fix the problem ourselves. But sometimes our fixer-uppers just don’t work right. That’s what happened to Wanda. While playing with her cat, Whiskey, Wanda Wizzlewoop (I love the last name, great alliteration!) broke her wand. She concocts a means to fix it, but her fixer-upper wand does everything backward, upside down and really strange – like casting a spell to stop the rain and instead it rains frogs and toads. Not exactly what Wanda had in mind. Upset, she’s startled when Whiskey asks her what’s wrong and then informs her, quite simply, that “it’s okay to ask for help”. And it is okay. Something we all need to do from time to time.

“Deborah Kupfer’s picture book story, Wanda’s Wand, is a fun read. Young readers will find Wanda’s situation both sad and, at times, rather funny. Accompanied by colorful illustrations by artist Tina Wijesiri, the story is full of silliness as Wanda’s situation worsens with each attempt to make use of her broken (and then mended) wand. Part of growing up is learning how to fix things, how to solve problems, but it’s also about learning to ask for and accept help when the need arises. A powerful message shared with the love and compassion of a young witch and her treasured cat. The language is simple to appeal to young readers and may also be used as a read-along, early reader for those beginning to read.”

Thank you Emily-Jane Hills Orford for Readers’ Favorite
If anyone would like a PDF ARC for review let me know.
WandaWrap

A Thief & a Gentlewoman

51wl95qz2b8l

Need something new to read? Check this out.

In the palace, enemies hide around every corner. And some are done waiting.

Posing as an aristocrat, Quin lives by three rules: rob from the rich, give to the poor and never get caught. Because for her crimes, the penalty is death.

Royal, charming, and handsome, Atesh is her latest mark, but he’s no fool. When he starts seeing through her disguise, Quin’s forced to balance lie upon truth, teetering dangerously close to spilling her secrets.

After a shocking murder strikes at the heart of the palace, Atesh is wrongly arrested. Quin must choose between saving an innocent man from the gallows and keeping the noose from her own neck.

This gripping fantasy adventure with action, intrigue, and a dash of romance, is perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas and Leigh Bardugo.

Read A Thief & a Gentlewoman today to discover a world where cards control magic, the past won’t stay buried, and no one is what they seem.

On sale for just 99 cents!

About the author

Clare Sager is a lifelong fantasy reader, former English teacher, and corsetière.
Her fate was set the day she was gifted a DragonLance graphic novel – after that, there was no hope for her to be anything other than a fantasy author.
When she’s not writing, she can be found reading, making corsets, obsessing over the 18th century, or laughing at cats/photos of cats.
She lives in Nottingham, Robin Hood country, so it’s no surprise she writes about a character who robs from the rich to give to the poor.

Archon 43 – Highlights

Just got back from Archon St. Louis. This is my fourth year attending and my third attending with my son Joey. We had an amazing weekend. I was on five panels and also sold books in Author Alley. This was my first time in Author Alley (previously I’d been in the Huckster room) and I liked it. I liked watching the world go by.

Archon table

On the first day I was a little worried that they would just go back and not stop and chat about books. I needn’t have worried. Oodles of folks came by including familiar faces from last year and new friends. There was one wonderful woman who showed me all her kitty pictures (I will never say no to kitty pictures!). They were the cosplayers that stopped and chatted like this one from my favorite book – Good Omens and even a huge dinosaur that stumbled up and down the corridor.

Crowley  dinosaur

And then the best bit (at least for me and Joey). On Saturday afternoon we got to transform into enraged Plutonians and run a puzzle hunt over at the Doubletree hotel. It was awesome. Sixty people in nine teams worked their way through the puzzles and even learned (and sang) the Plutonian national anthem along the way.

MoreSolvers Solvers

Sunday morning’s panel was storytime in children’s programming. I read my upcoming book Wanda’s Wand which Jessica Mathews read her new book The Lazy Vampire. The audience was small (just one little girl and a few adults) and for the last book instead of us reading the little girl took a turn and read my book, The Great Bobbert aloud to us!

Girl with Bobbert

So that was it. On Sunday we finally trudged back home, tired and a little sad it was all over. Thank you to everyone who came out to see us. I’ll be running my puzzle hunt on my sister page Paws 4 Puzzles over Chanukah in December. For now it’s time to get back to Pluto!

PlutoDressBehind

Oh, one more thing – today is the last day to pick up the P.A.W.S. Saga for just 99 cents/99p each!

Catch up on the P.A.W.S. Saga

 

P.A.W.S. Sale!

A little reminder via Kayla Matt’s awesome blog that the P.A.W.S. Saga is still sale for 99 cents each for just today and tomorrow. Also make sure you check out Kayla’s awesome pics of some of my characters at the bottom of the post.

Welcome to Hell Bent

October, it seems, is a great time for book sales! Today and tomorrow, the entirety of the P.A.W.S. saga is on sale for 99 cents per book. So that’s 5 books for under $5, including the NEWEST release Cotula

So, if you’re a fan of shifters, animagi, werewolves, and all sorts of magic, check out The P.A.W.S. Saga!

BOOK 1

When Miri receives a silver cat charm from her omama, Celia, on the night before Celia dies she has no idea that the charm holds a secret, a powerful magic that saved her omama’s life and is about to make Miri’s a whole lot more interesting.

Join Miri on a mysterious and supernatural journey with her new friends, members of an underground St. Louis society known as the Partnership for Animagi, Werewolves, and Shapeshifters, better known as P.A.W.S.

BOOK 2

Argentum is the thread that binds all magic …

View original post 591 more words