Confessions of an Adverb Junkie

Nice blog post about adverbs from my writing buddy, Patrick Hodges.

Phoenix Publishing and Book Promotion

Confessions of an Adverb Junkie

by Patrick Hodges

Hello. My name is Patrick, and I am an adverb junkie.

(Everyone: Hi, Patrick! We warmly welcome you openly!)

I’m an emotional guy, and I write the same way. I am of the firm belief that every spoken word, every action, needs to have some kind of emotion (even if it’s a lack of emotion – ponder THAT) attached to it. A person can’t just knock on a door; they have to “rap loudly and purposefully” on it. A person can’t just nod their head, they have to “nod slowly.”

I’ve been told repeatedly (there I go again…) that I am overly dependent on adverbs. And it’s taken me some time to realize that the criticism is accurate. This new awareness is like being wakened from a really pleasant dream by having a bucket of ice water dumped over your head.

waking with water

Is…

View original post 419 more words

Leave a Reply

