Introducing D.K. Cassidy

DKCassidy

Today on Paws4Thought I’m pleased to introduce Shades of Fear author, DK Cassidy. Tell us a little bit about yourself, Deborah.

I have been scribbling stories since I was a child and love to write in various genres including Magical Realism, Science Fiction, Literary Fiction, and now Horror. Although I never considered writing Horror before this project, I seem to like it!

I have a B.A. in English Literature from the University of Washington.

I live in the Pacific Northwest with my greatest fans: my husband Mark, twin sons Aidan and Jared, and three cats.

How did you get involved with Shades of Fear?

I was invited to join a Facebook group for those attempting to complete NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). Once the month was over, the group decided to stay together. The writers on this page are enthusiastic, helpful, and anxious to get in print. The idea of putting together an anthology for charity took off.

Who are your favorite authors?

Haruki Murakami, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, John Updike, JRR Tolkien, EJ Runyon, and Margaret Atwood. This list isn’t comprehensive but gives you an idea of the varieties of authors I enjoy reading.

Tell us a bit about your story George?

George is the story of a young boy living in a terrible situation. His father ignores him and his mother controls him through fear not love. He creates his own world by gathering objects that give him a form of happiness and admiring his collection in his closet. The closet is his safe place.

What are your own greatest fears and how do you deal with them?

I have arachnophobia, the fear of spiders. I get quite irrational if confronted by an eight-legged monster. I will scream and run from a room, closing off that part of the house until I’m “rescued” J If there is a glass, mug, or bowl available, I’ll trap my nemesis until someone can execute it. Other than that, I’m pretty fearless!

What do you like to do to relax?

I run, travel, knit, and of course read! Traveling is my favorite form of relaxation. I enjoy immersing myself in other cultures. The way citizens of other countries view the world has been fascinating and illuminating. Travel is a time I can let go of my life and reinvent myself.

Where is the most interesting place you’ve been to and why?

Each destination is unique and has its own allure. If pressed, I would have to say my favorite place was Florence, Italy. The beauty of the architecture, the amazing Uffizi museum, seeing Michelangelo’s Statue “David”, all stand out as memorable experiences.  The food was divine and the people friendly. Finally, I enjoyed the slow pace of life there.

(I loved Florence too, DMK)

 Where would you most like to visit?

You may think this is a strange answer, but I would like to travel to Antarctica. The idea of getting close to penguins is thrilling! I don’t like being cold but am fascinated by glaciers, history frozen in huge blocks of ice. The thought of hearing the ice crack although frightening would also be breathtaking.

Do you write when you travel? (A journal, stories, etc.)

Absolutely! I carry a notebook and if it’s convenient I’ll have my laptop with me as well. There have been a few times I’ve forgotten to bring a writing tool. In desperation I’ve borrowed a pen from random strangers to jot down an idea. You notice I didn’t say borrow paper, I write on my hand or arm until I get to my notebook. There is so much stimulation while traveling; I work on my fiction attempting to capture the ideas flying out of my head.

If you could change places with a fictional character who would it be?

This is a difficult question since my answer would be tied to what I’m currently reading. I just finished Geraldine Brooks’s novel, “The People of the Book”. The main character Hanna Heath, is a book conservator from Australia. She is trying to discover the history of a rare copy of a Haggadah (the text recited during a Seder dinner during Jewish Passover). She is an intelligent, independent, adventurous, woman. Being her for a while would be fantastic.

(Sounds interesting – I’ll have to check it out. DMK)

What are you currently working on?

I am finishing up a collection of short stories called, “Spilt Milk”. My character George makes more appearances. Each story portrays a person who makes a change or decision in his/her life.   If all goes as planned, it will be out this summer.

How can readers connect with you?

Facebook

Twitter

Amazon

ShadesofFear

 

 

 

One thought on “Introducing D.K. Cassidy

  1. Reblogged this on Dara Rochlin Book Doctor and commented:
    And another great interview for Shades of Fear. This time, meet D.K. Cassidy, the author of the short story “George”. [oh, and Shades of Fear is free for purchase this weekend, May 3 & 4) if you haven’t gotten a copy yet, what are you afraid of? – DRR ]

Leave a Reply

