Character Inspiration: People You Know

Interesting post over at YAAR. I too have been known to create characters based off of folk I know. Joey Marks, the animagus kangaroo is based off of my son Joey. And Shirley the camel that will appear in the upcoming fourth installment of P.A.W.S., Londinium, is based in my mother, Shirley 🙂

YA Author Rendezvous

Character Inpiration: People You Know by Author Lauren Mayhew

Character Inspiration People You Know - Lauren Mayhew Author - YA Author RendezvousThis one may seem obvious, but I think it’s worth writing about. You don’t have to copy someone that you know completely, as that may be a bit too obvious if they ever pick your book up, but you can take certain traits from them.

For example, my first book ‘Reality is in a Dream’ has two characters that are exaggerated forms of two of my old school friends. Certain events that take place in the book involving the main character, Liliana, actually took place during my time at school. It’s quite funny, because I once had a reviewer tell me that she thought these character’s actions were not believable, and yet it actually happened to me.

Obviously, you don’t need to take their names, you don’t want anyone to be offended, especially if the character is one of the villains…

View original post 243 more words

Leave a Reply

