M is for Miri Katz

M

“Hello everyone. My name is Miri Katz and I live at the P.A.W.S. Institute of the Midwest. I was born in the Lower East Side of Manhattan where I lived with my omama, Celia, until I was ten years old. My mother Nora left me with my omama when I was a baby and I never knew either of my parents.

That was okay. I loved living with Omama and our cats, Kitty and Susie. Omama came from Vienna and made the best Viennese cakes and pastries and sometimes I would bake with her in my own mini cake pans. I’d invite my friend Jenny up to our apartment to share the cakes after we were done baking.

Jenny and I would often play “fairies” on the steps of our apartment building. Jenny was fascinated with fairies and liked to draw them on her sketch pad. I liked to write and filled notebooks with stories.

The night before my tenth birthday Omama woke me and gave me her silver cat charm. The next day she died and my aunt Cynthia came and took me to St. Louis. I’d never been on a plane before and didn’t like it too much. Cynthia and David didn’t really want me and shipped me off to a fancy boarding school, the Saul Emmanuel Academy. I hated it there and was bullied almost from the day I arrived.

Then one day something amazing happened. Some mean girls chased me into a tree and I found my power. I changed into my black cat form for the first time and was able to give those girls a little payback for all the bullying.

A few months later Josh (a werewolf) rescued me from Saul Emmanuel and took me to P.A.W.S. where I started my new life.

You can read an interview with me here and of course read my story in P.A.W.S.

Be Brave Meine Katzel

 

Leave a Reply

