Happy Birthday Mum & Meet Shirley the Camel!

mumselfie

Today is my mum, Shirley Manber’s birthday. She’s 80 years young! This is the first selfie that she ever took two years ago when I visiting her in her old folks’ home in Nahariya, Israel.

During that summer I took her out a lot in her wheelchair. My mum loves restaurants and her favorite in Nahariya was also my dad’s favorite – The Penguin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The summer, as all summers in Israel are, was very hot. I frequently needed to stop and drink water. My mum, not so much. The heat doesn’t seem to bother her and I have to encourage her to drink. So we came up with a theory. We decided that my mum was actually a camel! And so Shirley the Camel was born.

camel

My mother has read each of the P.A.W.S. books, but so far she hasn’t been a character in P.A.W.S. This will change in P.A.W.S. 4, Londinium, that all being well will be out on October 20th, 2017.

Shirley the Camel lives in London Zoo in the city where my mum grew up. She often seen wearing and apron and a white hat with yellow flowers around the brim. And is fond of a nice cup of tea and a biscuit.

Get ready to meet her in the autumn, but in the meantime

Happy Birthday Mum!

hbmum80

Finally in honor of my mum. Tea and Dark Chocolate is on sale this week for just 99 cents on Kindle. I wrote this little collection of silliness for my mum and dedicated to her as she normally is not so fond of the dark stuff I regularly write. She loved it!

tea-3

One thought on “Happy Birthday Mum & Meet Shirley the Camel!

  1. First off I would like to say wonderful blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.

    I was interested to find out how you center yourself
    and clear your head prior to writing. I have had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first
    10 to 15 minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure
    out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

