The Importance of Proofreading

editorpencils

As some folks here know I’m in the process of republishing the second book in my series, Argentum. I wrote this book three years ago starting with the first draft during NaNoWriMo of 2013. I polished it and self-edited it, sent it out to beta readers, and edited it again. Then it went to my publisher at the time who edited it and sent it back to me for proofreading. I proofread, found errors that were corrected and it was published.

During the years it was published by the small press several friends found more errors that I made note of and when I got my rights back I fixed. I went over the whole thing again myself and then hired a professional proofreader who still found tons of errors! Fixed them all, read it again and sent off for a paper proof.

This week I’ve been sitting with the paperback copy reading it yet again (I know my story backwards and forwards by now, but amazingly I still like it.) And guess what? I’M STILL FINDING ERRORS!!!!

So folks remember this – it’s a process. Never assume because a professional editor has been through your work that you don’t have to check it. Check it, check it again and keep checking it and eventually you’ll get an (almost) perfect copy!

Also if you’re looking for an editor or proofreader, I do that too. Check out the Editing and Proofreading tab on the top of the page.

And remember to preorder the brand new (hopefully error free) version of Argentum releasing on December 1st.

argentum2-paperbackwraplowres

One thought on “The Importance of Proofreading

Leave a Reply

