Meet the Multi-Talented Michelle Lynn

Today on Paws 4 Thought I’m happy to welcome Young Adult Romance and Fantasy author, Michelle Lynn.

MichelleLynn

  1. Tell us a little bit about yourself, Michelle.

Hello to everyone who is smart enough to read Debbie’s books. I count myself among you all and have never been disappointed. (Aw shucks – DMK)

I also write YA books, both dystopian and romance. Don’t laugh at me! Lol. Romance gets a bad rap, but I try to hold back as much of the cheese as I can, but some dribbles may slip through. I can’t help myself – I love books that leave you grinning.

Living in Tampa, FL surrounded by my family – including a bubbly two-year-old – and a horde of furry friends gives me all the material I need to write. I spend my days writing, reading like nobody’s business, watching ice hockey, and playing play-doh.

MichelleKitty

  1. When did you first start writing?

When I was 23 and fresh out of college, an illness I’d been managing for years worsened and became disabling. I could no longer work outside the home or do much else. For six months, I was even bedridden. That’s when my first book was born. I’ve continued to write as I remain disabled and couldn’t imagine doing anything else.

  1. Who are your favorite authors?

Whew – too many to count. JK Rowling is the obvious one. Robin Hobb. David Eddings.

  1. What inspires you to write?

Life. That sounds cliché, but I believe inspiration can be found just about anywhere. My family is my biggest source. I wrote an entire book inspired by the world of the NHL. The ocean is a big one. I keep finding beach and ocean themes creeping in to my works.

MichelleGabby

This is Gabby. One of the characters in the Dawn of Rebellion trilogy is named after her. She’s wearing the jersey of my favorite hockey team.

  1. You write in two different genres – do you find it difficult to switch between the two? Do you prefer fantasy or romance as a reader and a writer?

Switching genres was easier than you’d imagine. At the end of the day, these stories are just about people and how they relate to one another. Once you get that down, the rest is cake. The harder part was switching from first person, present tense to third person, past tense.

As a reader this is a difficult question. It’s a lot easier to enjoy a romance – I do love them – because they’re simple and sweet and end happily most of the time. Fantasies are harder for an author to get right. But when they do, when everything clicks into place and the story sucks you in, it can be magic.  

  1. Tell us a little bit about your latest release.

Dreams is a special book for me. It’s the third in my New Beginnings romance series, but it isn’t truly about the romance. Some have said it’s more contemporary fiction than romance. Josh is a young professional hockey player who meets Taylor, a girl who seems broken by grief. Through their friendship, she slowing starts putting herself back together until the unthinkable happens to Josh and she has to confront her past in order help him move into the future, a very different future than he’d imagined.

To put it in short hand – it’s a story about what you do when the one thing you’ve dreamt of comes to an end. What’s next?

41refzcvtkl

  1. What attracts to writing for young adults?

Teenagers are incredibly resilient. They’re ever changing. They love with the same fierceness that they hate and forgive easily. I wanted to write about teenagers so it only made sense to write for them. There’s an energy they have that I wanted to tap into.

  1. You recently released an audio book of Dawn of Rebellion. Tell a little about the process of getting this made. Will there be audio books of your other titles?

Now this was fun! I put Dawn of Rebellion on amazon’s acx marketplace where I found my amazing narrator, Danielle. She got started and we worked together to put out what I think is a pretty great audiobook.

Danielle is about to start recording book two in the series, Day of Reckoning. Choices, book one in the New Beginnings series, will also be out as an audio book in October. That one is sounding great!

51jfqt15nsl-_aa300_

  1. Do you have a favorite character you’ve created?

Without question. Don’t get me wrong, I love all my babies, but I have a special place in my heart for Josh Walker – the leading man in Dreams. His struggles hit on a personal level for me and on top of that he’s a too-sweet-for-words hockey player for my favorite NHL team.

  1. What are you currently working on?

A couple of books. My writing partner – whose name is also Michelle – and I are in the early stages of an epic fantasy series.

I’m also writing a YA contemporary book titled We Thought We Were Invincible, about a group of kids in their final months of high school, living it up until everything they know is shaken to the core. This will be the heaviest topic I take on and it’s one that’d been in the public eye. It’s intimidating, but stories like these need to be told.

  1. What do you like to do to relax?

Read. Watch Netflix. Swim. Rinse. Repeat.

  1. If you could have any superpower what would you choose?

Easy – I want to fly. My walking disability makes things difficult for me, but if I could fly, my problems would float away!

  1. Do you have a little snippet you’d like to share?

Sure! Here’s a cute little moment between Josh and Taylor from Dreams:

 

As they watched the movie, he glanced at her every few minutes. His arm rested on the back of the couch, stretching towards her.

“You’re going to mess up my hair if you keep doing that,” Taylor said after he had been playing with the wet strands for a few minutes.

“Hate to break it to you, sweetheart, but it’s already messed up.”

She started combing her fingers through it self-consciously. It had started to dry funny, and there was no helping it.

“Maybe if it was as long and pretty as yours, the rain wouldn’t ruin it. Can I use some of your product? You must have tons of it.”

“Oh,” he said, cupping his hands around his mouth. “She makes a joke, ladies and gentlemen.”

“I make jokes!”

“Nah, you’re always so serious.” He touched her cheek lightly. “I just want to see you smile.”

Taylor’s stomach clenched as she looked into his eyes. “I want to smile,” she admitted, finally looking away. “I just …”

“Can’t,” he finished for her. “We’re going to change that.”

“How do you expect to do that? I barely know you.”

“You know me.” His voice grew quiet and it was his turn to look embarrassed. He shook it off. “You had fun running through the rain, didn’t you?”

“I guess I did.”

“Then that’s how we do it. I don’t want you to think right now. I just want you to say the first spontaneous thing that pops into your mind. Something you want to do.”

Something I want to do? She thought. Then she remembered she wasn’t supposed to be thinking.

“Come on. Give me a quick answer,” Josh said.

Before she knew what she was doing, Taylor leaned over and pressed her lips to his. His eyes widened in surprise, but he didn’t pull away. His arms snaked around her back as she continued to kiss him. Her brain was yelling at her to stop, but she just wanted to feel something. And Josh made her feel everything.

 

  1. How can readers connect with you?

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/Michelle-Lynn-706537056079631/

Website – michellelynnauthor.com

Check out Michelle’s books on her Amazon page!

b5ad9-mlteaser1

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

