The Redwood Rebel Blog Tour – Meet Lorna George

LornaGeorge_AP

Today on Paws 4 Thought we welcome fantasy author, Lorna George. Lorna recently released her debut novel, The Redwood Rebel. Lorna stopped by to answer a few questions.

  1. Tell us a little bit about yourself

There’s not much to tell, really. I’m just that person with her head in the clouds, who laughs at inappropriate moments, and more often than not talks without thinking. I’ve been living in Norfolk for the past six months, and before that I was in Dorset, and that’s just about as far as I’ve travelled anywhere! By day I work behind a till for a well-known British stationery shop, but by night I weave worlds and people out of the cotton in my brain. 

  1. When did you first start writing?

 I think I must have been about eleven or so? I had a fabulous English teacher, you know, the kind of teacher who makes school not seem so much like brainwashing and treats her students like individuals. She set our class the task of writing anonymous horror stories one day, and the next lesson she picked mine out as the best and read it aloud to the class.

Well, it was pretty shocking for me, and for everyone, really. I’ll never forget the way the whole class turned and looked at me when she asked who had written it and I very slowly raised my hand. I was so sure it was a mistake or a joke, and a few of my peers even said as much. At the end of class, she took me to one side and reiterated how good it had been, and asked me if I had ever considered writing as a career.

Not going to lie, I hadn’t considered anything as a career at that point. Still, the idea of being good at something, and something I liked doing, too, was just wonderful. And well, now here I am!

  1. Who are your favorite authors?

 I have so many, it’s impossible to single out just one. Louisa May Alcott had a huge impact on my life, as well as Terry Pratchett. Both of them in very different ways, but still highly important!

  1. What inspires you to write?

 Having stories to tell! I have so many ideas, so many things I want to say, so many imaginary people wandering about my mind, I have to write just to have a bit of peace and quiet!

In all seriousness though, I am very much driven by the desire to share my stories. It’s not always easy to sit and write –in fact sometimes it’s pretty difficult! Still, I love it anyway, and I love even more the idea of sharing my work with others. Books were so important to me growing up, and every single volume I’ve loved or enjoyed has stayed with me and taught me somethi8ng important. I’d really like to pay that experience forward, even if only to one person! 

  1. Tell us a little bit about The Redwood Rebel.

 It’s your typical, tropey, old-fashioned fantasy story on the surface, but with some twists on the established roles and plot progression. The Princess is an evil tyrant, the knight is the dragon sacrifice, and the dragon is the “damsel” in distress. Or dude in distress, as I like to call him. It’s set in the world of Ilios, where magic is rampant and there’s a lot of civil unrest. I play with a lot of politically important characters in this series, so that’s a lot of fun for me to explore.

  1. What attracts to writing fantasy?

 I absolutely love the genre. I’ve been obsessed with magic and dragons for as long as I can remember, and they were always the kind of books I enjoyed reading, even to this day. I think it’s such a great way to write, because there are absolutely no limits on what you can do!

  1. What are you currently working on?

 Book two is my main project just now. I’m on the final stretch of the fifth draft, and from there it’ll go back out to my lovely beta readers and my excellent editor before coming back to me for more re-writes, and in the meantime I expect I’ll be starting the first draft of book three! 

  1. What do you like to do to relax?

 Reading mostly, or playing MMORPG’s with my sisters. We have a game night every Sunday where we play ESO, and that mainly consists of me proving just how far removed my personality is from the characters I write. 

  1. If you could have any superpower what would choose?

 I would want the power to never feel tired! I could still sleep if I wanted to, but if I wanted to sit up for five consecutive days to write, I wouldn’t have the inconvenience of having to stop! 

  1. How can readers connect with you?

 I have a website, a facebook page, as well as twitter, and tumblr. Don’t be shy! Come and talk to me!

Pick up your copy of The Redwood Rebel today!

cover_final_smallsize

Amazon

FeedARead

Barnes & Noble

Waterstones

3 thoughts on “The Redwood Rebel Blog Tour – Meet Lorna George

  1. What a lovely, natural lady she comes across as! I already have her book and it is fantastic, I just couldn’t put it down. I can’t wait to get my teeth into her second book!

Leave a Reply

