Sins of the Past – Andy Morris

AndyMorrisBanner

Today on Paws 4 Thought we continue our Sins of the Past series with Andy Morris, author of Birthright. Tell us a little bit about yourself, Andy.

I live in a small town in the West Midlands, England called Wednesbury with my fiancé, Gemma and my two children, Harry (6) and Emily (4). I’m currently working for a joinery company manufacturing door frames and doors, which at the moment is taking up a lot of my time so finding time to write is difficult, but I do what I can when free time becomes available. I’ve always been a big horror fan, whether it be films, novels, or even comics and have often been told I have a morbid imagination, which does come in handy when writing horror.

Who are your favorite authors?

 Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and Brian Keane.

Tell us a bit about your story, Birthright?

Birthright is a story about a young boy and how his haemophilia transforms him into a vampire. I set it during the Russian Revolution because of the Tsar’s young son Alexei, who did suffer from the condition and whose disappearance has been shrouded in mystery. Birthright is actually a small part of a much larger story that I have been working on for a while.

 If you could travel back in time to any place and period in the past where and when would you go?

I’d travel to ancient Greece around 2000 B.C.

 What attracts you to writing horror?

The macabre and the sinister have always fascinated me and having a slightly weird imagination, it seemed a perfect fit.

 What are you currently reading?

The Strain by Chuck Hogan and Guillermo Del Toro.

 Are you planning to write a story for Sins of the Future? Any hints about your story?

I do have plans for a story. All I can say at this time is when the world is ending and food is running out, what lengths would you go to to survive?

 What do you like to do to relax?

I like to read, watch films, and spend time with my family.

 What are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on the series of novels set in the same world as Birthright.

How about a snippet from Birthright?

It has been sixteen years since my whole family, including myself, were killed in the town of Tobolsk, Russia.

It all started in 1905 when peaceful protesters marched upon the Winter Palace, my family’s home at the time. Although my father was not in residence then, he was blamed for the shootings by the palace guards, which resulted in nearly a hundred deaths and over 300 more severely injured. This day was to be known as Bloody Sunday and was the start of my father’s decline as the ruler of my motherland. This set in motion events, which would take another thirteen years to come to a head and during that time my life would change forever.

What happened next, you will not find in any history books. Scholars will not be talking about it. For what happened to me, Alexei, son of the last tsar of Russia, heir to the throne, was unnatural. I was born with a blood disorder, a disorder known as haemophilia. To many this is a disorder where the body can’t produce the blood-clotting agents it needs in order to heal, but what you may not know is that the literal translation for this disorder is

Love of blood”.

Like all parents, mine were very protective, but more so because of my condition. The slightest bruise or cut could have been life threatening and like most young boys growing up I had my fair share of bumps. This bought all kinds of doctors to treat me, but it was one instance in 1912, when I was just ten years of age, when my condition really took its toll. We were vacationing in the town of Spala when I fell from my horse while hunting and I was in a critical condition – so much so that the last sacrament was read to me by a priest. Doctors could do nothing for me and my mother resorted to turning to a starets (a spiritual elder of the Russian Orthodox Church) to come and see what could be done. This man’s name was Grigori Yefimovich. Known to many as Rasputin…

Connect with Andy on Facebook.

To read more pick up a copy of Sins of the Past today in Kindle or paperback.

UK readers can follow this link to Amazon UK.

Sins Of The Past

One thought on “Sins of the Past – Andy Morris

  1. Pingback: Sins of the Past – Round up! | Paws4Thought

Leave a Reply

