Magic of Solstice – Allison D. Reid

FB Banner

Today on the Magic of Solstice blog tour we welcome Allison D. Reid.

AReker Author Photo

Allison answered a few questions about herself and her writing.

Tell me a little about your books:

Journey to Aviad is the first book in a Christian fantasy series that was originally inspired by the characters I brought to life for an online multi-player roleplaying game.  Since those days they have become so much more, and their story has grown to take on new life and meaning.

New JTA Cover

When young Elowyn finds a mysterious looking coin in her favorite woodland stream, the simple life she knows is forever changed.  The discovery sets a series of events in motion that take Elowyn and her older sister, Morganne, on a remarkable physical and spiritual journey.  Dark clouds and unnatural storms begin to threaten their home city of Tyroc with growing frequency and ferocity.  Creatures that were once believed to be nothing more than historic legend suddenly emerge from the depths of the wilderness.  Even the once trusted leadership of Tyroc seems to have been swayed by the encroaching forces of darkness.  As Elowyn and Morganne struggle to make their way through a world thrown into turmoil, their untested faith is suddenly challenged.  They begin to realize that it is not always easy to discern between truth and falsehood, nor is the path laid out for them by Aviad, the Creator, free from perils.  Despite their fears, they choose to follow Aviad, who takes them not only on a journey away from Tyroc, but away from their old selves, as they grow in strength and maturity of faith.

Morganne and Elowyn’s journey continues in the second book of the series, which will be published later this year.

What attracts you to fantasy?

Fantasy is the one genre that makes me feel like a little kid again…it leaves me spellbound with its magic, mystery, and the thrill of adventure.  In real life, those who are fighting for good don’t always win, but in fantasy they can.  For me it is a genre of hope, that celebrates courage and integrity in the face of overwhelming adversity.  In fantasy, we can imagine our best selves into existence, and through those experiences, better learn how to be our best selves in the real world.

If you had a superpower what would it be?

I would want the power to go back and observe different places and times in history.  It would be amazing to follow in Jesus’ footsteps for a while, walk through a real medieval village, or visit some of the ruined castles I saw when I was living in Europe…back when they were whole and full of life.

What are you reading right now?

I am reading Bell Mountain, which is the first book in a Christian Fantasy series by Lee Duigon.  I’ve been eyeing this series for a while and am very excited to finally get started on it.  I am also going through Your 100 Day Prayer by John I. Snyder.

If you could travel to any place, real or imaginary where would you go?

Narnia, please! Though I suspect once I was there, I would never want to come back.

Tell me one odd thing about you.

I am terrified of storms—tornadoes in particular.  Honestly, my anxious little Morkie handles bad weather better than I do!  When I’m really stressed out or nervous about something, I dream about tornadoes all night long.  So when I was writing Journey to Aviad, it only seemed natural to give my villain the ability to conjure storms and use them as a weapon against humanity.

Allison shared some pictures of her fur family Roary (the cat), and Pattertwig (the dog).

Roary and Pattertwig

She told us a little about them:

“Pattertwig is a sweet little Morkie (Maltese-Yorkie mix) who loves his family and follows me wherever I go.  I refer to him as my little white shadow.”

Pattertwig  Roary

“Roary is a 1 year old tabby that we adopted when he was just a kitten.  We took Pattertwig with us to pick him up from the shelter and they have been buddies ever since.  They play together, and sometimes even cuddle up with each other, much to the dismay of my two older cats (Cera and Lirit) who would never lower themselves to fraternize with the dog.  We also have a Bearded Dragon, and a 60 gallon fish tank.  Yes, we like animals!

Connect with Allison:

Website: www.weavingword.com

Blog:  https://weavingword.wordpress.com/

Amazon  Author Page: amazon.com/author/windrider

Pick up a copy of Journey to Aviad today!

Smashwords:  http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/541402

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Journey-Aviad-Allison-D-Reid/dp/1456329650/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1430609919&sr=8-1&keywords=Journey+to+Aviad

Barnes & Noble:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/journey-to-aviad-allison-reid/1107518297?ean=9781456329655

CreateSpace:  https://www.createspace.com/3497109

The Learned Owl Bookshop: http://www.learnedowl.com/book/9781456329655

And stop by Jan Marie’s blog  http://authorandangels.blogspot.com to hear what I have to say today!

3 thoughts on “Magic of Solstice – Allison D. Reid

Leave a Reply

