Magic of Solstice – Renee Scattergood

FB Banner

Today on the Magic of Solstice blog tour we welcome Renee Scattergood.

Renee is the author of Shadow Stalker, a series of novellas that tell the story of Auren, a young shadow stalker who is being hunted by the Galvadi Empire because of their belief that she will enslave the people of the Serpent Isles.

Renee shares this excerpt of her story with us today:

Shadow Stalker: Destiny Reconciled Part 1 (Episode 5) Excerpt

By Renee Scattergood

His pain was replaced by fear. Whether it was fear of me or fear for me, I couldn’t tell.

“What does it mean?”

Kado moved toward me, pushing me to the ground. “Close your eyes and relax. Do not resist me and do not hide yourself by wrapping yourself in the veil.”

I closed my eyes and at first there was nothing. Then a tingling sensation started in my solar plexus. He was re-establishing the connection. My relief overwhelmed me when I sensed him again, but it was short-lived. I couldn’t move. It was as though my body had been covered in a lead blanket.

“Breaking the connection was the most dangerous thing you could have done, Auren. Contrary to what you believe, it’s not a way for me to spy on you. How else will I know what you need during your training? How will I sense if you are in trouble? This bond tells me how I can find you, so I can help you. Without it, and without your training, you are completely helpless.”

I understood that now, well most of it, but I couldn’t tell him so. Breathing was becoming difficult as I was crushed under an invisible force, similar to what the demon had done to me when I was in the hole.

“Any shadow stalker is capable of doing what I’m doing to you now, Auren, and worse. They don’t need a connection to you. Without training you have no way to defend yourself.”

He was right about that. I fought desperately to push whatever was crushing me away, but I may as well have been trying to move a three ton stone slab. My head spun as I gasped for air. For a moment I thought he might kill me, and I was powerless to stop it.

Please, Kado.

The pressure lifted, but my body would not move. Kado was restraining me, though his hands only rested gently on my forehead and belly. For a moment it seemed he was simply trying to calm me until my head began to ache as though something was boring into my skull. At the same time, a white hot pain seared my gut. My mouth opened to release a scream, but I couldn’t pull in a breath. Struggling was useless against my invisible bonds; I couldn’t escape the pain. Thankfully, it eased almost as soon as it began, and I found myself floating. Like perhaps I had died.

No, not dead, I realized. I wasn’t in the shadow world, so I struggled to grasp onto something real and felt a gentle caress against my forehead. Latching on to the sensation, I followed it back to consciousness. Kado had me cradled in his arms, brushing wet strands of my hair out of my face.

What did you do to me?

paw print line

About the Shadow Stalker Series:

Shadow Stalker Cover 3 JPG

 Shadow Stalker is a series of short novellas (episodes) that tell the story of Auren, a young shadow stalker who is being hunted by the Galvadi Empire because of their belief that she will enslave the people of the Serpent Isles.

 Episode 1: The Hidden Truth

Auren Trask’s perfectly normal life is disrupted when the Galvadi invade, and she learns a startling secret about her past. A secret that will change her life forever.

Episode 2: The Delohi-Saqu’s Fate

Auren is being targeted by the Council of Elders, and the only one who could put an end to their corruption is her father. But leaving the Dark Isle would turn Kado against her.

Episode 3: Shadows’ Betrayal

After seeing the monster she will become, Auren swears not to leave the Dark Isle. Despite that, the elders are conspiring against her. To escape their scheming, she and Kado decide to explore the Dark Isle. But worse things await them in the forests.

Episode 4: Forbidden Love

Kado and Auren survive a deadly storm, but when Auren is forbidden from pursuing love with another young shadow stalker, will it be enough to drive a wedge between her and her foster father?

Episode 5: Destiny Reconciled Part 1

Auren and Kado accept that they may not be able to avoid her leaving the Dark Isle. Now they have to prepare for that eventuality. Will the training be more than Auren can handle?

About Demon Hunt:

Demon Hunt

Auren longs for adventure and a break from her tedious life on Appolia. It’s the start of summer, and she is looking forward to her yearly camping trip with her foster father, Kado. She believes these trips are for fun, but when they arrive on Luten Isle, Kado informs her that she is a shadow stalker, and she is in training.

One morning, Auren decides to take her training into her own hands. She only means to practice seeing the veil to the shadow world, the world of the shadow people and the source of their power. Instead, she opens the veil releasing a demon, a guardian of the shadow world, into the physical world.

With the deadly beast loose, she and Kado don’t have long to hunt it down and return it to where it belongs, or many innocent people could die.

Pick up Renee’s books from her website, Amazon, or Smashwords.

Get the latest episode of Shadow Stalker free!

Renee Scattergood

Connect with Renee on her blog, Facebook, Twitter, Google +, Goodreads, and Authorgraph.

And visit me today on RJ Mirabal blog.

Leave a Reply

