Fellowship of Fantasy Writers Blog Tour – Day 14 – J Lenni Dorner

ffwbt_banner_web_990px

 

Today on Paws4Thought we welcome fantasy writer J. Lenni Dorner. Tell me a little about your writing, J.

I prefer to write speculative fiction. The natural style of my writing flows toward a dark side, as does my sense of written humor. I have a love of throwing in that which borders on possible just enough to make the mind itch. I love itchy minds!

What attracts you to fantasy?

I am attracted to writing fantasy because I love creating new worlds and unusual species. I was working on an urban fantasy for a while, but that’s in the edit stage now. (Sometimes a story must sit and brew before it can spread wings and fly off the page.) So my focus has returned to high fantasy- a story with knights, castles, dragons, elves and such, though they push the boundaries of your expectations.

Bird1

If you had a superpower what would it be?

Psionic powers which include biological manipulation on myself and others, telekinesis, teleportation, dimensional travel, and omniscience.

Have you made any New Years Resolutions this year?

2015 Goals and Resolutions:

Publish something every week on my blog

Have 5000 Twitter followers

Support Diverse Books

After editing my fantasy novel, get new query letter out there

Partake in two reading challenges

If you could travel to any place, real or imaginary where would you go?

Some of the real places I still want to go to: Bigova, Montenegro ; Naples, Italy ; Rockland, Maine, USA ; Cranberry Lake, NY, USA ; Mingan Archipelago National Park, Quebec, Canada

Cross between real and imaginary: Erudite headquarters

Imaginary places I would go to: Flourish & Blotts

Tell me one odd thing about you.

I have lived in a part of Pennsylvania where the belief that photography can steal the soul of a person is still prevalent.

My Lenni Lenape people also hold the belief that a name is sacred. Our people use nicknames or only part of our true name in social settings. (We refer to each other according to the relationship- Mother, Father, Brother, Friend, etc.) Each person for thousands of years has had a unique name. The common custom today of a baby being named shortly after birth by the parents is very different from our ways. A child would be about seven years of age when brought to the Name Giver, who is a person selected by the Great Spirit (or God). The true name may be given at once, or may take years, for the Name Giver must have a vision to discover what it should be. No other may ever have that name. It dies along with our body and travels with our spirit. A witch could kill simply by using our true name. It is believed that knowledge of the true name could also trap a soul.

So please, feel free to just call me J, and to enjoy the sunrise image I use to identify myself online.

Read an excerpt of J’s story, “EGOT and the Pond King” from  the newly released anthology, WRONG!: A themed anthology

 

Fun Fact about the book:

Proceeds from sales of “WRONG!: A themed anthology 2014” will benefit cancer patients in writing courses. Personally, I think getting a book and helping people at the same time is loads of fun.

(I agree. I have participated in several charity anthologies including Shades of Fear, Darkly Never After, Pick Your Poison, and Winter Wishes. DMK)

 

Wrong

 

Connect with J on their blog, Twitter, Facebook, or Pinterest.

Enter the Fellowship of Fantasy Writers Rafflecopter for a chance to win an ebook of Wrong and a $5 Amazon gift card along with many other cool prizes.

Rafflecopter

2 thoughts on “Fellowship of Fantasy Writers Blog Tour – Day 14 – J Lenni Dorner

Leave a Reply

