Write or Wrong Part 4: Where author Debbie Manber Kupfer lets the cat out of the bag about writing a series…

Today I guest blog on Shannon Yarbrough’s site and talk about the challenges of writing a series and also share a picture of my kitty, Miri Billie Joe.

The Lone Writer: Shannon Yarbrough

I’ve been writing stories all my life. As a child I would fill notebooks with tales and even wrote a series of four “books” based around the goings on in my school playground. As I became an adult I continued writing and filling notebooks. In my twenties I started writing a fantasy novel. Somewhere in the basement I still have the notebooks I filled with that first novel. Maybe I’ll dig them up one day – I remember there was a pretty cool ogre in it.

catThe problem was though, that despite starting all these stories, I never finished anything. I always knew I wanted to write a book, maybe even be published, but I thought I had plenty of years for that. But then I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I went through chemo, surgery, and radiation and I realized my own mortality. Thankfully today I’m cancer-free, but it…

View original post 372 more words

Leave a Reply

