Fellowship of Fantasy Writers Blog Tour – Day 1 – C.B. Mac Gillavry

ffwbt_banner_web_990px

 

Today we continue the Fellowship of Fantasy Writers Blog Tour with Eco-Fantasy writer, C.B. Mac Gillavry. Tell us a bit about yourself.

I write for young adults, but I hope that people over 18 will like my stories as well. I actually write eco fantasy, which is fantasy with an environmental topic, and this is the hard yet easy part: smuggling a message this complicated in my stories.

I have completed one novel and one novella so far. There is a fairy tale spinning in my head: it’s like having to breath in and out, this story must blossom and if I ignore it, it’s bound to bother me until I write it down.

What is the name of your latest book and what inspired it?

The title is SuperMoon. The moon and the fascination I feel for “her” inspired it, together with the urge to be with some people I have lost a long time ago. My book is my special place where I get to be with them yet again.

I listen to music while I write, classical (Bach!) when I’m near a deadline, and just the radio when I’m not running late. I also drink too much coffie and eat too much…

Do you have any unusual writing habits?

I listen to music while I write, classical (Bach!) when I’m near a deadline, and just the radio when I’m not running late. I also drink too much coffee and eat too much…

What authors or books have influenced you?

There are so many authors I love, but let’s just name a few: Jane Austen, Terry Pratchett, J.K. Rowling, Isabel Allende, Primo Levi (Italian writer), Andrea Camilleri (Sicilian writer, he writes in Sicilian, not in Italian), F. Springer (Dutch writer), Hermann Hesse.

What are you working on now?

I’m about to start my fairy tale, I don’t have a title yet.

What is your best method or website for book promotion

I bug people until they read my writings. I don’t have such a crowded audience so far.

Do you have any advice for new authors?

 I’m new, so please! Do tell me what to do!!

What is the best advice you have ever heard?

I hope it’s a good one, but many people have told me to just keep writing.

What are you reading now?

 The 11th percent, by T.H. Morris, but next will be Argentum by Debbie Manber Kupfer. (Hope you like it – DMK)

What’s next for you as a writer?

Well, I don’t know yet, I just take it one day at the time

3 or 4 books for deserted island?

Complete works by William Shakespeare, by Jane Austen, by F. Springer and by Andrea Camilleri. So, I’m a cheater.

What inspires you to write?

The things I hate are one inspiration, then the need to be with my loved ones and the need to be in my own happy place.

Tell us about your writing process

I start daydreaming and as soon as I’m alone I start writing or recording my ideas on my phone.

Are you an outliner or a seat of the pants writer?

I don’t know, I guess I’m a seat of the pants writer.

What do you use to outline? Whiteboard? Software?

I use Scrivener, I love it!

Do you create character sketches before or during your writing?

No, they already exist, they are and I write about them.

Do you listen to or talk to your characters?

They act, I describe, just as simple as that. I see the pictures in my mind, mostly moving and unfolding, and I write down what I see.

How do you interact with your characters while you are writing?

I don’t, it’s like watching a movie I suppose.

What advice would you give other writers?

Just write and be happy.

What do you think about the future of book publishing?

I hope people will keep reading real paper books, although ebooks are good enough, as long as people keep reading. I wish others had the same addiction to books that I have. I still think it’s a good addiction, one that actually improves something of the general condition of the addicted person. And yes, I’m also a pusher…

 

paw print line

 

Paws 4 Pets

C.B. Mac Gillavry is shared her life with two kitty friends, that have also found their way into her fiction. So here are Viola and Tommy.

Viola   Tommy

 

 paw print line

Connect with C.B. Mac Gillavry on her blog.

Also check out my visit today to Danielle Ross’s blog – A World in a Grain of Sand.

And make sure you enter our multi-author rafflecopter!

Rafflecopter

3 thoughts on “Fellowship of Fantasy Writers Blog Tour – Day 1 – C.B. Mac Gillavry

Leave a Reply

