Teenage Fiction

I love all things YA (of course as I write it too)

kaybrooksauthor

I am a huge fan of teenage fiction. My keenness for this genre started way before my teenage years when I grew out of picture books and wanted something more meaty, with real-life issues that I might deal with myself one day. In the library I discovered the Sweet Valley High twins. When I thought about secondary school, these were the characters and situations I imagined. I fancied myself as an Elizabeth type: studious, a bit of a do-gooder but popular at the same time, with a gorgeous sporty boy on my arm! Unfortunately, I had much more in common with Judy Blume’s Margaret from Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret! I was full of self-doubt, constantly wondering how I appeared to others and there was certainly no boys lingering near me! Although my high school years weren’t all that exciting, it was great to read about characters…

View original post 941 more words

Leave a Reply

