The Big C

breast-cancer-awareness-month

October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month. As many folk already know I am a survivor. Just over three years ago I found a lump in my breast. I went to the doctor and he also felt it and sent me for a mammogram and ultrasound. The mammogram did NOT find my lump, but the ultrasound did. I was later to discover that for some women like me who have dense breast tissue this is not unusual. Therefore this October I encourage all women reading this to do a self-breast check and continue to do one every month. A minute’s check could save your life. It saved mine.

You can read my cancer memoir, The Big C in the charity anthology Shades of Fear. It’s the very last story in the collection. All proceeds go to pediatric cancer treatment and research.

ShadesofFear

Leave a Reply

