Introducing Kristy Carey and The Wandering Wizard

KristyCarey

Today on Paws4Thought we welcome fantasy author, Kristy Carey. Tell us a little bit about yourself, Kristy.

            Let’s see… I’m 32, single, and I have a cat.  More?  Fiiine.  I’ve always loved books.  Thinking back, there are always a few things that come to mind as ‘The First Thing I loved’.  Xanadu, Singin’ in the Rain, Disney’s Sleeping Beauty and Grease are the movies I’ve always loved, but have no memory of seeing for the first time.  How Majestic is Your Name, Upon This Rock and More Than Wonderful [all by Sandi Patti] are the first songs I remember. And in books, the Nate the Great series, which I refuse to go back and read again for fear of seeing them through the eyes of an adult.  The movies and songs I still enjoy today, but with Nate I enjoy the memories of how they changed me for the better.  >.>  Not sure if that’s what you meant, I ramble sometimes.

I really enjoyed your story, The Wandering Wizard. How did you come up with the idea?

            Spring of 2013 I did this thing called ‘The 7 Day Story’, where you take a short story from conception on day 1 to sending it out for publication on day 7.  My start was ‘A wizard sitting in a coffee shop…’ and it blossomed from there.

Who are your favorite authors?

            This is oddly an easy question.  I only have three: Frank Peretti, David Eddings, and Jim Butcher.  And that’s the order in which they arrived on what seems to be my hard to please list.  The first two were added before I was 13, and Jim only made it on last year.  19 years is a long time to wait for the next one.

What are you reading right now?

            I just finished a book, and am working on Excelsior by George Sirois.  So far, it’s enjoyable and I need to get back into reading it.

If you had a magical power what would it be?

            ~flails~ Holy Crap… Not an easy question. On the one hand I’d love to have powers like Storm… But mostly cause she’s freakin’ amazing.  Most likely… I don’t know.  I think I’d wanna have powers like Belgarath in the David Eddings books, powers of the Will and the Word.

Are you planning to continue the story of The Wandering Wizard?

I hadn’t known if that would happen, but then everyone involved in this blog tour gushed and prodded and I thought ‘I don’t even know where I’d go.. Oh!!’ and now I have an idea in mind.  Nothing solid, just a note on my phone from while I was driving.  But it would be a continuation I believe, picking up where The Wandering Wizard ends.

What are you currently working on?

Right now I’m working on back story, character creation, and assembling a story called I’ve Always Known, which is a Superhero tale about The Protectors and their battle against Loki and Kronos.  It’s stretching me a bit, as I normally sit and write without details in place.  Panster Kristy, that’s me.

What attracts you to writing fantasy?

            Freedom.  You get to break rules all over the place, and get away with it all.  For a little while, I have total control of a world and if someone says it doesn’t make sense, I get to say ‘It’s fantasy ya dork’… Only, not that cause it’s rude.

Whats your guilty pleasure?

            The phrase ‘Guilty Pleasure’ implies I don’t like sharing that I’m into it, which makes me ponder a good deal.  I have things I’m sure others think of as guilty pleasures, but I’m oddly an open book about far too much.  ~spent several moments wiggling and thinking in her chair, looking around the room at kids toys, vintage movies, comic books, comic book toys, mantas, vintage postcards, weird photos and other things~  Nope.  Not much I’d call a guilty pleasure.

How can readers connect with you?

            Aha!!  I have a list around here some place…

Blog – http://wouldbesomebody.blogspot.com/

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/KristyCareyAuthor

Twitter – https://twitter.com/Kristy_C

GoodReads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8434902.Kristy_Carey

Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00LWFIO00

Kristy Carey is an author and blogger with a passion for creativity.  With one publication under her belt, she plans to keep the momentum by focusing on the Urban Fantasy genre in future pieces.  She is currently splitting her time between writing and steampunk jewelry design. Her passion in both writing and design, is to mix together elements that don’t belong, and make them seem natural.  Kristy is currently working on a Superhero story staring The Protectors as they battle both Loki and Kronos.

Pick up a copy of The Wandering Wizard today!

wanderingwizard

One thought on “Introducing Kristy Carey and The Wandering Wizard

Leave a Reply

