Say Hello to Saoirse O’Mara

Author Photo Saoirse O'Mara

Today on Paws4Thought we welcome fantasy author Saoirse O’Mara. Tell us a little bit about yourself, Saoirse.

Well, where should I begin? I’m a dreamer, wordsmith, weaving magic with my words (it makes people smile), chocolate and coffee lover, cat lover, language lover, and I live in Germany with my husband and our two cats.

We love cats here at Paws4Thought. Can you introduce us to yours?

Of course, Here are our fur babies. This is Kamelya. She’s a girl.

SaoiriseCat1

 

And this is Tüte, he’s a boy.

SaoiriseCat2

 

(Aw! They’re beautiful: DMK)

When did you first start writing?

I started writing after I had learnt how to put letters together to create words. I think I was fascinated with written language right from the beginning, and pestered my parents until they taught me to read before school started.

Who are your favorite authors?

Agatha Christie for one; she’s one of my influences when I write mysteries, I think. In my childhood, my number one favourite author was Enid Blyton (I especially loved her “Famous Five” series, and even wrote an adventure book very similar to that series as a teenager). I also love Trudi Canavan’s and Licia Troisi’s fantasy books, and I’ve read most of the “People of” series written by Kathleen O’Neal Gear and Michael Gear.

Tell us a bit about your books.

I have two series for children and teenagers. “Miro the Dragon” is a series I originally wrote in German. It’s about a tiny dragon who is afraid of everything. With new friends, he slowly learns how to overcome his fears and become a “real dragon”. The first book is already translated into English, and will soon also be available in Chinese. The second book is not yet available in English, but I’m working on the translation.

Miro-Cover-web (2)

My other series, “A Rogue’s Tale”, is written for YA readers although I’ve heard and read several times by now that it also appeals to younger readers. It’s written in English. In “The Lost Diadem”, young city guard Govin meets the pickpocket and street urchin Tayla, a brave young girl who strives to survive in the streets of Davon. Their fateful meeting throws them together to solve the mystery of a stolen diadem in order to clear Tayla’s name. It’s a genre mix between fantasy and mystery, with each book in the series being about a different mystery that Govin and Tayla have to solve.

LostDiademTroublePiratesEnchantedGarden

 

(I’ve read The Lost Diadem and found it a highly entertaining  adventure that middle grade kids would particularly enjoy. DMK)

What attracts you to writing for children and teens?

It’s fun, and I love the smiles and shining eyes of children when I read Miro to them. I guess I just really like to write stories children and teens want to read, to teach them values in a fun and interesting way.

So what’s next? What are you currently working on?

I’m currently working on the third Miro book, on the English translation of the second Miro book, and on part four of A Rogue’s Tale. My translator and her proofreader are also just finishing up the Chinese translation of the first Miro book, so that will be released in the near future too. I’m really excited about this one since it will be my first non-English or -German book.

What do you like to do to relax?

I love to read, to escape to other times and places. I also play pen & paper and tabletop RPGs with friends, and I sing and play the guitar.

How can readers connect with you?

I’m on Facebook (there are two fan pages, one for each series: http://facebook.com/MiroDrakonia and http://facebook.com/ARoguesTale), on Twitter (@saoirseomara), and they can also look up my homepage (http://saoirseomara.wordpress.com).

Thanks for the interview, Debbie!

You’re very welcome Saoirse.

Leave a Reply

