“Self-published” doesn’t have to be a bad word!

Some food for thought for self–publishers from “Pure Control” author, C. Lloyd Brill.

C. Lloyd Brill - Author

     A few days ago I was talking to someone about my novel and he seemed genuinely interested in it. He asked questions about the book and I could see his eyes lighting up. He asked where he could get a copy and how much it cost. I gladly answered as my heart raced at the thought of another sale. He asked me who the publisher was and I told him I self-published it. He shook his head and when I asked him about that reaction he explained that he refuses to buy self-published books. I asked him why and he told me that he’s wasted too much money on self-published books that were pure garbage.
     My heart sank. I tried to explain to him that my novel was a quality novel that received high reviews. It didn’t matter. He associated the phrase “self-published” with poorly written/edited stories. I…

View original post 1,538 more words

Leave a Reply

