Meet Kerry E.B. Black

Kerry

Today on Paws4Thought I continue our series of Shades of Fear interviews with author Kerry E.B. Black.

Tell us a little bit about yourself, Kerry. 

I live in a little town outside of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania in a little sunshiny house stuffed with a very funny spouse, amazing kids, two dogs, a soft cat, and two fish. The house is too small for all of us, but it is ours.

I come from a line of talented storytellers. My mom remains an inspiration. She tells amazing tales.

How did you get involved with Shades of Fear?

I am honored to have a story included in the anthology! Such an exciting project! Dara, Tom, and Desiree put in a tremendous amount of work to create the book.

Who are your favorite authors?  

Good heavens, there are so many! I am an eclectic reader. If I have to choose but one author, though, I adore Neil Gaiman.

Tell us a bit about your story Each Uisage?

Mythology fascinates me, and the imaginations of our ancestors offer such amazing terrors. Some tales are told as caution, a way to control exuberant youth, but I often wonder, what if these creatures still walk among us? If we forget the aged tales, if we lose our ancient skills, then we leave ourselves susceptible through our “superior knowledge,” our lack of superstition. In that case, what is missing is understanding, which leads to vulnerability.

Did you do any research for your story?

Of course!

What inspires you to write?

Writing is a way of being. It is a necessary creative expression and a skill to be honed. I enjoy the work. What inspires my stories? All manner of things inspire my stories. Some spring from my unhealthy array of fears. Others come from personal experiences and observations. I love to share my take on the world. I hope that readers like what I see.

What are your greatest fears and how do you deal with them?

I have many fears. Most of them center around the health and success of my five children.

When did you first start writing?

My first stories were written for underclassmen at my elementary school. I illustrated and wrote stories, bound them on oversized pages, and presented them. I was ten I think when I started these undertakings. Writing has nearly always been a part of my life. I write short stories, flash fiction, and poetry. I’ve published creative non-fiction and journalistic pieces as well. It is my dearest desire that my stories find homes within the imaginations of my readers.

What do you like to do to relax?

Reading, of course, or spending time with my family and friends. My life is quite hectic, so sometimes stealing a few moments for a hot cup of tea is the best that can be managed. I paint or sketch sometimes, too.

What are you currently working on?

Improving my writing skills is a huge goal. I write daily (with rare exceptions), and it is my hope that from these endeavors, something will inspire a publisher and readers.

How can readers connect with you?

I have a Twitter account (KerryBlack@BlackKerryblick), Goodreads author’s page, and WordPress Blog (http://kerrylizblack.wordpress.com/)

 

ShadesofFear

3 thoughts on “Meet Kerry E.B. Black

  1. Pingback: Meet Kerry E.B. Black | Allusionary Assembly

Leave a Reply

