My Writing Process

Today is “My Writing Process” blog tour day, when writers answer questions about their writing process. Last week, fellow author Brooke Williams posted hers.

Brooke

Brooke Williams is an award winning author and freelance writer.  She has written hundreds of articles as well as full novels including Someone Always Loved You.  She looks forward to the release of Wrong Place, Right Time from The Writer’s Coffee Shop Publishing House in December and Accept this Dandelion from Prism Books in February.  She has 12 years of experience in radio broadcasting and a brief amount in TV news.  Brooke and her husband Sean married in 2002 and have two daughters, Kaelyn and Sadie.

Connect with Brooke on her blog, authorbrookewilliams.com or Facebook.

Thanks to Brooke for tagging me on her blog.

A little bit about me first. My name’s Debbie Manber Kupfer. I grew up in London, but today live in St. Louis with my husband, two kids and a cat. I’ve been writing ever since I was small, but only started taking my writing seriously in 2012 when I wrote my first novel P.A.W.S. during NaNoWriMo. When I’m not writing fiction, I write puzzles for magazines and for my blog Paws4Puzzles. So here’s my writing process answers.

debsprofile

What am I working on?

I’m currently finishing up the edits for Argentum, the next book in the P.A.W.S. series. I also have stories coming out in several anthologies over the next few months.

Over on my puzzle blog Paws4Puzzles, I’m getting ready to participate in this year’s “Blogging from A to Z Challenge”. During the month of April, I’ll be posting 26 puzzles, one for each letter of the alphabet.

A2Z-BADGE-0002014-small_zps8300775c

How does my work differ from others in its genre?

I’d like to think that P.A.W.S. appeals to those who don’t normally read YA or fantasy, and certainly the comments I’ve had seem to bear it out. Most teen reads focus on the relationship between the central couple. While there is romance in P.A.W.S. and Argentum it is not the central focus. Rather we follow the lives of many characters both teen and adult and I feel that everyone will find someone they can identify with in my books.

PAWSCover

Why do I write what I do?

Because the characters inside me insist that I tell their story. I have a whole world stretched out waiting to be written!

How does your writing process work?

When I wrote P.A.W.S. I did it with very little outline, just a few ideas scribbled in a notebook. When I sat down to write Argentum though I realized that the “pantser” approach that works well for a first book in a series is not quite appropriate when working on a sequel. Thus for Argentum I had to take a step back and spend some time working on a timeline and character list. When you have a couple of characters who are practically immortal and a tendency towards flashback a timeline is essential.

Other than that I work best in the mornings when I have the least interruptions and need about a gallon of hot tea with milk to get through my day!

 

Next up:

Chasity

Chasity Nicole grew up in a small town in North Carolina. In 2005 writing became a big part of her life, when she would write stories with a friend of hers. After graduating high school in 2008, she went to college for Criminal Justice. During this time writing went on a bit of a hiatus until Chasity was diagnosed with Tourette’s syndrome in 2009. Months later she realized that writing was the only thing that helped keep the tics at bay, part of a few different projects. Chasity’s advice is to find something that you love doing and do it. Don’t let anyone tell you can’t do it. Do what you love, and love what you do. To see what other projects she’s working on visit Chasity on Facebook or WordPress.

 

TDHarvey

T. D. Harvey is a British dark fiction author. Her writing spans many genres, but always errs on the darker side. She has been published in two anthologies, Flash It!, an un-themed flash fiction anthology and Shades of Fear, fear themed short stories. Ms Harvey also has several stories appearing in anthologies this year, including Writers’ Anarchy III: Heroes and Villains, a multi-genre themed anthology; Sins of the Past, a collection of historical horror shorts; An Anthology of Pants, a fun anthology with a pants (trousers) theme; and Anything Goes, an un-themed and multi-genre anthology. You can find her on Facebook,  and on WordPress

 

Misha

Misha Burnett has little formal education, but has been writing poetry and fiction for around forty years. During this time he has supported himself and his family with a variety of jobs, including locksmith, cab driver, and building maintenance.

Major influences include Tim Powers, Samuel Delany, William Burroughs, and Phillip K. Dick.

Connect with Misha on WordPress or Facebook.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “My Writing Process

  1. Pingback: Today We Have Naming Of Parts | mishaburnett

Leave a Reply

