Meet Jack Darkness (if you dare!)

JackDarkness

Today on Paws4Thought we continue our series of interviews with Shades of Fear authors with the one and only Jack Darkness. Tell us a little bit about yourself, Jack.

I grew up in a small town in Oregon called Cave Junction, where there was little to do besides read or get into trouble. Let’s just Say I was a little bit like Puck back in those days.

How did you choose your pen name?

The name Jack Darkness actually came from a web-comic series that I enjoy and have been following since I was in high school called Vampire Phantasm. Jack Darkness and the other fantastic characters were a creation of a wonderful woman named Sarah Nelson; she has Inspired a lot of my current activities.

Who are your favorite authors?

My favorite authors are hard to just pick out because I enjoy different styles and genres so I’ll just name off a few titles and authors on my bookshelf. Michael Scott’s The Immortal Secrets of Nicholas Flamel (which I have every book of, including the Kindle books.), Mary Janice Davidson’s Betsy the Vampire Queen series (yes, I tend to read romance.), The Complete Works of H.P. Lovecraft, and Bram Stoker’s Dracula.

Tell us a bit about your Shades of Fear story The Morrigan?

I actually based this story off of my own childhood fear of the Faerie realms in Irish mythology, In particular the Banshee or Bean – Sidhe as it is properly spelled. I grew up with the folklore of the five major clans of Ireland, as I belonged to the actual O’ Riley family (my middle name is a shortened version.) I in particular had a short lovespell over The Morrigan, a Tuatha De Danaan, Irish goddess.

Have you ever been to Ireland?

No sadly, though I am hoping that when I make enough money off my projects that I can take my wife and children.

Did you do any research for The Morrigan?

I have a huge book called The Folklore of the British Isles that gave me a lot of information on the land and countryside there. Otherwise I read through a family grimoire and searched the internet, where I found an obscure reference to the Morrigan being the Goddess of the Bean – sidhe.

What are your own greatest fears and how do you deal with them?

Dwarves and gnomes, maniacs and pranksters. They’re plotting to kill us all. Seriously though, I despise garden gnomes and avoid them.

What do you like to do to relax?

Read, write, draw and kill fey in a wonderful game called Kingdom of Amular: Reckoning, created by authors and animation geniuses, Todd McFarlane, R.A Salvatore, and the creator of Fable.

 What are you currently working on?

I am currently working on my apocalyptic horror novel, and webcomic series based off of the same novel, called Dirge. My other project is Fire – Dancer, to be released in the Elemental anthology this summer, it’s a continuation from where The Morrigan left off.

How can readers connect with you?

Either through my Facebook under my pen name of course, by email: jack.darkness12@gmail.com or at JackDarkness1 on Deviantart.com

ShadesofFearMorrigan

Leave a Reply

