Say Hello to Maria Sauerbrei

MariaS

Today in our continuing series of interviews with Shades of Fear authors, we welcome Maria Sauerbrei, contributor of the story The House in the Woods.

  1. Tell us a little bit about yourself, Maria.

I was born and raised in Jersey City, NJ. When I was 22 I moved to Arizona and lived there for eight years. While I was there I met and married my husband, and we had three daughters (Ages 6, 4, and 2). I have a B.A. in English Literature and am currently working on my M.A. in English Literature. I’ve also had my own photography business since 2010 in which I photograph babies and families.

  1. How did you get involved with Shades of Fear?

Like most of the authors in Shades of Fear it started with Nanowrimo 2013. It was my first time participating and the little group we started to encourage and cheer each other on turned into such a huge support for my writing beyond Nano.

  1. Who are your favorite authors?

Stephen King has always been one of my favorites. V.C. Andrews is one of the first authors I started following with any regularity and as a teenager read every single one of her series. I recently discovered John Green and am working my way through his books. My tastes in book varies greatly, I don’t typically stick to one genre so picking favorite authors is tough for me.

  1. Tell us a bit about your story The House in the Woods?

I have always loved horror films, stories, and movies. The supernatural genre is one I lean toward as well, however I was sick of vampire stories where the human and vampire fall madly in love. I wanted to create a story where the vampire is a vampire. Being in love wasn’t an option for him because his primary needs came first. From that desire was born my story.

  1. Why do you think that vampires are so enduring in literature and film?

The aspect of immortality is appealing to many people. The idea of being so primal and living based on what you want and need at that moment in time appeals to people. One common thread that runs through all vampire stories is wealth. All vampires are wealthy because of how long they’ve been around so the daily worries of how to enjoy life and survive are gone. It’s all about satisfying the primal urges in us all.

  1. Do you have a favorite literary vampire?

Who doesn’t love Eric Northman from True Blood, especially as he’s portrayed by Alexander Skarsgaard. ::laugh:: I don’t have a favorite to be perfectly honest. They’re all pretty interesting in their own way.

  1.  What are your own greatest fears and how do you deal with them?

Being a mom my greatest fears all relate to my children. I fear about not being able to teach them everything they need to know about the world. I want them to follow their dreams so I try my best to follow mine and hope they’ll follow my lead.

  1. If you could have a super power what would it be?

Mind control…because how cool would that be!

  1.  What do you like to do to relax?

Reading, writing, and photography.

  1. What are you currently working on?

Another horror story for an anthology and a fairy tale therapy flash fiction piece which has been a lot of fun to work on.

  1. How can readers connect with you?

Through my photography Facebook page www.facebook.com/msauerbreiphotography, my twitter @mariasauerbrei, and my instagram @msauerbreiphoto

ShadesofFear

Leave a Reply

