Welcoming Kristi Webster

Kristi

 

Today on Paws4Thought I welcome Kristi Webster. Kristi’s story The Devil’s Man opens the Shades of Fear anthology. Tell us a little bit about yourself Kristi.

I’m 32 years old and have been married to my husband for almost 11 years.  We have two adorable kiddos.  I work part time as a graphic designer at a local boutique and also help my husband with his computer business.  We live in the great state of Oklahoma.

How did you get involved with Shades of Fear?

I was invited to the group via Facebook and have met some amazing people in the process!

Who are your favorite authors?

Growing up, my favorite authors were R.L. Stine and Christopher Pike.  As I matured, so did my reading tastes and I started reading Stephen King and Dean Koontz. Later, I tried out some romance novels and was hooked.  It’s mostly been romance and erotica ever since.  My two favorite authors in that genre are Ella Fox and Pepper Winters, both of which I’ve come to know on a personal level as well.

Tell us a bit about your story The Devil’s Man?

The Devil’s Man was based upon memories of a very terrible time in my life.  My mother married a man that hurt our family in unimaginable ways.  It was terrifying and stressful during those years, a very dark time for me.  The Devil’s Man gives readers a brief glimpse into what I went through during that time, which was physical and emotional abuse.  Thankfully, we were able to leave that situation and have been happy in Oklahoma ever since.  When I wrote that piece, it gutted me to have to relive those painful memories.  After I completed the edits from the story, I had to put it away because every time I read back through it, my heart would pump like crazy and my anxiety was about to go through the roof!  While it might not seem like a very fearful story to most, it was the worst fear I have ever known.

(I applaud your courage to write about such a difficult subject.  DMK)

What inspires you to write?

I have all of these story ideas that swirl around in my head.  If I had more time and I could type faster, I would just sit at my computer all day long so I could release them.  My biggest inspiration to write is while I’m reading.  While in the middle of a great story, I can’t wait to hurry and get back to my own! 

When did you first start writing?

I first started writing the first part of November in 2013.  A friend gave me a little push and I’ve not stopped running since. 

What do you like to do to relax?

A relaxing time for me is to sit in my recliner and drink coffee with my three year old wedged in beside me.  She watches SpongeBob while I write steamy loves scenes on the laptop or read them on my Kindle.  That’s pretty much how every Saturday is spent. 

What are you currently working on?

I’ve got a load of projects I’m working on.  I just sent out ARCs of my second novel in the Breaking the Rules Series called Wrong and am completing the writing of the third, Scarred.  I’m also doing a final read through on my country novella, Rock Country, which will join 11 other stories in a box set called Southern Seduction that will be released in April.  I’ve got another finished standalone novel that should come out in May.  And, finally, I’m working on another standalone novel to release in June.  Each of these projects is in the romantic erotica genre.    

How can readers connect with you?

I’m somewhat of a social media nut.  I breathe social media.  Readers can find me (ALL THE TIME) at:

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/authorkwebster

Twitter:  @KristiWebster

Blog:  http://authorkwebster.wordpress.com/

Instagram:  @KristiWebster

ShadesofFear

5 thoughts on “Welcoming Kristi Webster

  1. The Devil’s Man really stunned me…so vicious, and the overwhelming sense of responsibility to protect her younger sister… well done… the meanness reminded me of the father in The Secret Life of Bees forcing his daughter to kneel on cornmeal…steady, ugly pain

  2. I’m loving these interviews… so glad that you’re doing them. I’m happy that I will know all about the authors behind the stories.. once I get my hard-copy of Shades of Fear!

    • Thanks Diane – I did interviews with all the contributors in Fauxpocalypse after it came out and it really seemed to help get the word out about the anthology without a constant blitz of “Buy Our Book!”
      We have so many talented writers in Shades of Fear. I’m honored to be able to showcase them.

  3. Pingback: Guest blog, Debbie Manber Kupfer | Slippers, or Stilettos?

Leave a Reply

