Introducing Tom Deady

TomDeady

Today on Paws4Thought I’m happy to introduce Tom Deady. Tom helped to put together the charity anthology Shades of Fear and has a story The Beginning of the End in the collection. Tell us a little bit about yourself Tom.

Sure. I have two beautiful daughters from my first marriage. One is a college senior, the other a                nurse at a Navajo reservation in Arizona. My second wife has two young boys that keep us busy. Kind of a little Brady Bunch thing there, I guess. I’m an IT Manager at a nearby hospital by day, writer at night. I guess that’s a familiar story. One job to pay the bills, one to fulfill your passion.

How did you get involved with Shades of Fear?

I’m in the Master’s program at SNHU and last fall I saw a Facebook page was created for people in the English/Creative Writing major, so I joined. A short time later a few of the people talked about trying NaNoWriMo, so I jumped on board. During the blur that was November, Desiree Scott mentioned it on Facebook and things just took off from there. The response was amazing and the quality of the work makes me honored to be a part of it.

Who are your favorite authors?

Stephen King, Stephen King and Stephen King. He just continues to amaze me, his entire career has been one incredible story after another. Dan Simmons, Robert McCammon, Jennifer McMahon are a few others. Dean Koontz’s old stuff was very good. Did I mention Stephen King?

Tell us a bit about your story The Beginning of the End?

I have a very unorthodox style of creating a novel. I have ideas, sometimes just little glimmers of an event or a character and I just write. Barry Finn is a great example of that. I had an idea of one of the survivors who is a “good guy” with a not-so-good past. His character really grabbed me, just took over the keyboard and told his story.

So we all want to know, what’s going to happen next. When are we likely to find out?

Well, I hope I wasn’t too subtle in the excerpt. Spoiler alert – the world ends! The world as we know it, anyway. Finn and a handful of survivors are left and the novel is really their story, how and why they survived. It’s very character-driven and I have so much material it is going to be multiple books. I plan to self-publish the first book within the next few months.

What have you learnt most from helping to put together this anthology?

Wow, where do I begin? The biggest thing is probably getting to know the self-publishing world a little better. Writing is the easy part! Getting the manuscript formatted properly and making it available is part art, part science. I’m glad Des and Dara were doing all the heavy lifting.

What are your own greatest fears and how do you deal with them?

I just turned fifty (Me too, all the best folk turned 50 in the last year! DMK) and it sounds so old. I guess mortality is everybody’s fear. But honestly, something happening to one of my kids is my greatest fear. As a parent, it’s just something you learn to live with. I thought it would get easier when they got older, but the worrying never stops. As far as facing the other million fears…I write about them of course.

Tell us about your novel Haven?

I think Haven will always be my baby. It was written in fits and starts over a fifteen year period and I know it sounds cliché, but I poured my heart and soul into that story. It’s about childhood and redemption and the good and bad in everyone. Oh, and of course it has a great monster. I really would love to see it published in the traditional sense and be properly marketed. Of course, I have ideas already for a sequel.

What do you like to do to relax?

I guess the obvious answers are read and write, but I’m also a runner. I ran three marathons last year, if you include Boston. I was half a mile from the finish line when the bombs went off. It still doesn’t seem real. Anyway, I will probably run two or three this year. I get a lot of ideas and sort through plot developments issues when I’m running.

What are currently working on?

I’m finishing up the novel that contains The Beginning of the End. Although the story won’t be finished, this could end up being a trilogy. After that, I have fifty thousand words of another novel that I wrote during NaNoWriMo and I’m sure there will be more anthologies.

How can readers connect with you?

My author web site is www.tomdeady.com where I host my blog. I also have a blog in my “baseball persona” that I’ve been doing since 2004, www.survivinggrady.com. I have an author page on Facebook and my Twitter handle is @DeadyTom. I guess I’m pretty reachable for all you agents and publishers trying to find me.

ShadesofFear

One thought on “Introducing Tom Deady

Leave a Reply

