Meet Julie Young

Image

Today on Paws4Thought I welcome fellow Rocking Horse author Julie Young. Tell us a little bit about yourself, Julie.

I am an award-winning writer from the Indianapolis area whose work has been featured in a number of local, regional and national publications including: The Indianapolis Star, The Indianapolis Monthly, Michiana House & Home, Catholic Teacher Magazine, National Catholic Reporter, and CNN.com.

I am also the author of six local history titles including: A Belief in Providence: a Life of Saint Theodora, Images of America: Historic Irvington, Eastside Indianapolis: A Brief History, A Brief History of Shelby County, CYO in Indianapolis and Central Indiana, Famous Faces of WTTV-4.

I do radio appearances, guest speaking events, and I even appeared on the Oprah Winfrey show in 2000.

When did you first start writing?

Professionally? In 2003. Before that I was just goofing around with song lyrics and poetry.

 What inspires you to write?

Anything and everything. While some writers have a specific genre, I am really open to a lot of everything. I might have a great idea for a novel or I may suddenly want to work on a biography or another non-fiction project. I never know what is going to hit me from one day to the next and I usually have 3-4 things going on at once.

Tell us a little bit about Fifteen Minutes of Fame.

FIFTEEN MINUTES OF FAME is the fictional memoir of Megan Taylor, who was plucked from obscurity at the age of 15 and molded into rock and roll royalty with a new name (MonAmi), a lucrative recording contract and a carefully crafted Hanna Montana-like image. However, what started as a teenage dream, quickly turned into a living nightmare as her label gradually controlled every aspect of her life telling the singer: what songs to write, what to wear, when to tour and who to date. “The Suits” know that MonAmi has a short shelf life as a music sensation and they are determined to get everything out of her before her fifteen minutes of fame are over.

You play in a band – How cool is that! What kind of music do you play? Do you write your own songs?

When I play publicly, I typically perform covers of favorites such as Led Zeppelin, Heart, Golden Earring, Tina Turner…whatever the people want to hear. I am primarily a singer, however, I do play guitar as well.

 Who are favorite musical artists/bands?

My all-time favorites are Led Zeppelin and Heart. (I even met Ann and Nancy Wilson in 2013!) I love KISS (I met Gene Simmons in 2007) but I am a fan of the Beatles, Elvis (I was at his last concert in 1977, believe it or not!), Pink Floyd, The Who, and Bon Jovi. I love Katy Perry, Lady Gaga, and I think Lorde may be one of the coolest girls I have seen in a lonnnnng time. I really hope she lasts.

If you could meet anyone, living or dead, who would it be?

You know, I have been so fortunate to meet so many incredible people including many of my idols so I am afraid, I don’t have a huge “bucket list” of people I would like to meet. I think Pope Francis would be amazing to have a chat with and I think Tom Hanks would be a cool guy to talk to. I would love to hang out with Jon Bon Jovi for the day and absorb some of the knowledge he has (he is one smart cookie!) but If I could spend some time with anyone I would have to choose my parents who I miss very, very much.

 For the lead up to the release of Fifteen Minutes of Fame, I hear you’re calling out to musicians for a special promotion. What do you plan to do?

Yes, thanks for giving me a chance to talk about that. I really want FIFTEEN MINUTES to have a huge multi-media platform. This is a book about music and I am seeking out musicians who want to get their tunes in the hands of some new fans. I am accepting any genre of music from folks who want to send it in MP3 form or in hard copy CD to be used as promotional material for FIFTEEEN MINUTES OF FAME. I will promote the bands on the FMOF Facebook page and they will get an “endorsement” from my little rock star in exchange for their promoting the book as well. I already have several bands on board and am constantly looking for new ones!

Do you have any planned release parties/events coming up?

Well, I believe in going big or going home! I plan at least two release parties, one here in Indianapolis (where I live) and one in St. Louis. I hope to have live music at the Indy event and I have heard that MonAmi herself is donating one of her famous “masks” to be given away at both events!

Any future projects?

I always have something going on! LOL I have completed a biography on Michael Jackson for the Indiana Historical Society. They are currently seeking funding for that project. I am collaborating on a book with my son Vincent on his witty sayings known far and wide as “The Vincentisms” and I am completing an outline for a possible title for the Complete Idiot’s Guide series. In my spare time, I am working on another novel.

How can readers connect with you?

On the web: www.julieyoungfreelance.com

On Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorjulieyoung

https://www.facebook.com/Fifteenminutesoffamebook

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Vincentisms/175788015841765

Blogs: http://julieyoung1.wordpress.com

http://fifteenminutesmonami.wordpress.com

Fifteen Minutes of Fame will be released by Rocking Horse Publishing in April 2014.

6 thoughts on “Meet Julie Young

  1. Hey there, Ladies! I can’t wait for FMOF to come out. BTW Julie, did you see Ann Wilson sang the National Anthem last week before the Seahawks/49ers game? She totally nailed it! It’s great to get to say hi to you again too, Debbie!

  2. Pingback: FIFTEEN MINUTES OF FAME Cover Reveal | Paws4Thought

Leave a Reply

