Say Hello to Charlotte Howard

Image

Today on Paws4Thought I’d like to welcome fellow Rocking Horse author Charlotte Howard. Tell us a little bit about yourself, Charlotte.

I was born in Oman and spent much of the first part of my life flitting between Oman, Scotland, and England. Now settled in Somerset, I live with my photographer husband, two children, dog and two cats. I enjoy reading and writing (of course), spending time with my family, and watching action movies, whilst eating curry and drinking tea. 

When did you first start writing?

I can’t remember not writing to be honest. I wrote a poem when I was 10, which was published 4 years later in a regional anthology. At school I was always writing short stories and poems, handing them out to friends.

Who are your favorite authors?

Daphne Du Maurier is one of my all-time favourites. Her book, Rebecca, is where I chose my daughter’s name from. I’ve also read most of Tami Hoag’s crime fictions, and am currently obsessed with Sylvia Day’s Crossfire series.

What inspires you to write?  

Everything and anything. I pick up inspiration from comments that my children make, to conversations in the playground and supermarket. Even watching a film or reading a book can spark an idea!

Tell us a little bit about Four Letter Words.

Four Letter Words is the sequel to Seven Dirty Words. The first book is all about Paige Holmes and her relationships with Vance Ellery and Matt Jackson. In the sequel, it’s more about her relationship with herself. She’s made a choice between the two men, but events that follow cause her to question her decisions and take a long hard look at how she lives generally.

How did writing a sequel differ from writing the first book?

The first book just flowed straight out of me, the second book was more hard going. I’ve had a lot of feedback from readers on Seven Dirty Words, and I’m terrified that they’ll hate Four Letter Words! Poor Paige is certainly put through the mill, and the ending is definitely unexpected.

What are you currently working on?

A new contemporary romance currently called “The Black Door” – it’s totally different from the Words duet. Whereas they are about a young rich girl torn between two men, this one is about a divorced single Mum of 4, struggling to make ends meet and doing everything she can to avoid men. (And failing.)

What do you like to do to relax?

Drink tea and watch movies. Preferably action or crime – something where I don’t have to think.

How can readers connect with you?

I’m on Facebook (CharlotteHowardAuthor), Twitter (@Shy_Tiger) & Pinterest (Choward2614). I also have a blog (choward2614.wordpress.com) and have a website (charlottehowardauthor.co.uk)

I love hearing back from my readers, so am always gratefully for reviews on Amazon and Goodreads!!

Pick up copies of Seven Dirty Words and Four Letter Words directly from Rocking Horse Publishing, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Kobo, and Waterstones.

Image  Image

One thought on “Say Hello to Charlotte Howard

Leave a Reply

