Meet Kate I. Foley

“As the comet comes closer to Earth, we bid everyone farewell and a pleasant afterlife.” (Kate I. Foley, The End of the World as We Know It)

Image

Today I’m happy to welcome Fauxpocalypse contributor Kate I. Foley. Tell us a little bit about yourself.

 Well, I’m a homeschooled thirteen-year-old, I love to write and read, I’m obsessed with all things mystical (most of which includes Harry Potter somehow), I sometimes overuse emoticons, and I love chocolate and peanut butter. Seriously, whoever invented the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup is a genius. A little fun fact: the “I” in Kate I. Foley stands for Isabel, which actually isn’t my legal middle name. Yet. 😉

Tell us about your story in Fauxpocalypse. How did you come up with the idea?

My story is about a girl named Natalie who firmly believes (well, for the most part) that the world is not going to end, despite what all the scientists have to say about it. I think I came up with the idea not long after I discovered the project, which my mom actually found and sent to me (thanks, Mom!). As soon as I read what the project what about, I had that R.E.M. song stuck in my head, “It’s the End of the World As We Know It.” And something just clicked, so I started writing.

Other folk in this anthology have predicted a future far darker than you. How realistic do you think the future you predicted in your story is?

I actually laughed when I read this question. I don’t think that this is very realistic at all, even though there most likely will be people like Natalie who think that everything’s a bunch of baloney, but I like writing fiction because you can create stuff that isn’t realistic. We spend so much time in the real world, day after day after day, so writing something that doesn’t exist or is never going to happen is a nice escape. It’s like writing a dream that you can experience while you’re awake.

If you thought that the world was really going to end, what would you do?

 Ooh, that’s a hard one. Even if I didn’t think it was real, I’d definitely have some doubts, like Natalie does, but I’d probably stay home with my family and dog. We’d play games, eat good food, and continue living life to its fullest while we could. If it’s going to happen, why spend time worrying about it while you can savor what’s left?

You call yourself the Magic Violinist. It’s a very cool name. How did you come up with it? Do you play violin?

Thank you! I’m glad you like it! Actually, my friend Ronald came up with the name when I was seven or eight. I was trying to think of a name for my blog, so I asked my friends for ideas. Ronald came up with it because I loved fantasy and I played the violin (and still do!). And so, the Magic Violinist was born.

The title of your story comes from an REM song – are you often inspired by music? Who are your favorite bands and artists?

Oh, yes. Music inspires me in my writing almost as much as reading does. Something about listening to all of the instruments and the lyrics and singers all connecting helps to make my writing click. I often imagine my books as movies, complete with actors and actresses cast as the characters, and then I create a soundtrack for it on my iPod. I’ll listen to that soundtrack while writing whatever I’m writing and it helps me to focus on creating something magical.

Favorite bands and artists include every from Taylor Swift (my absolute favorite) to The Civil Wars to Imagine Dragons, though at the moment I’m obsessed with Ed Sheeran’s “I See Fire” and OneRepublic’s “Counting Stars”. I also love all of the soundtracks from “The Hunger Games” movies. “Safe and Sound” by Taylor Swift is haunting.

What are you currently reading? Who are your favorite authors?

 Currently reading Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. After the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling, Rainbow Rowell is my absolute favorite author. Eleanor & Park was one of the most beautiful books I’ve ever read. I think it even tops John Green’s The Fault In Our Stars, though that book is amazing too. I’m also rereading the Divergent series by Veronica Roth, since the movie is fast approaching (!!!). That ending in Allegiant made me turn a little green with envy at Roth’s writing skills.

What do you imagine yourself doing ten years from now?

Hopefully writing full time! By that time I’ll be twenty-three, so I’ll have finished college. I might have met a guy, but that sort of stuff is impossible to predict. Right now my goal is to find an agent before I’m twenty so I can say I got an agent when I was a teenager.

What do you most enjoy writing?

I write about everything under the sun. I’ve written contemporaries, fantasy, science fiction, dystopians, short stories, poetry, and much, much more. But I also write about different topics with different characters and themes, so I’m hoping that if I write a little bit of everything, there will always be a little something for anybody who reads my work. I hate it when people say to only write what you know, because if that’s all you write, that’s all you’ll ever write, and you’ll only get the same kinds of readers. Plus, if you only write what you know, how will you ever grow as a writer?

Thanks so much for having me, Debbie! J

Connect with Kate on her blog and follow her on Twitter.

Image

 

19 thoughts on “Meet Kate I. Foley

  1. Kate, for my money – and not meaning to diss other authors, including me – yours is the best story in this anthology. I’m really impressed by your writing ability and also your ability to come out of left field – ie genuine originality!

  2. Pingback: The Joy of Faux, by Theseus Muchmoore Comfortable | butimbeautiful

Leave a Reply

