Introducing Matt Blashill

matticus

Today we welcome Matt Blashill. Tell us a little bit about yourself Matt.

I live in Southern California.  Next question…

What?  You asked for “a little bit.”  Okay, okay, so I’m silly.  I blame my dad for that.  Or, is it that I have him to thank for it?

I studied psychology in college. I thought I was going to study ecology, behavior, and evolution, but then found out it was going to take a lot of work and a lot of memorization to be anything like Steve Irwin.  And for some reason, studying people was a lot less work.  Or, maybe it just came to me more naturally.  Perhaps it was simply because all the psych tests were essays and I’ve never had a problem putting words together.

After college I got lost in my 9 – 5 job for a while. Then I remembered a story I had started writing in junior high.  Once I got that down on paper I just kept writing.

I started blogging about a year ago, and that has provided a platform for me to branch out into multiple genres, test my limits, and learn so much more about writing than I ever learned in school.  Because blogging, for me, is about writing just to write, while in school it was writing for a specific purpose.

I think I’ll stop there because the “little bit” has turned into far more than you probably wanted to know.

Tell us about your story in Fauxpocalypse. How did you come up with the idea?

I had never written something about real people before working on my Fauxpocalypse piece.  All my stories had a touch of fantasy to them, where I could use magic, or a special skill to get my characters out of trouble.  But, with Fauxpocalypse I wasn’t going to be able to do that.  They needed to be real.  So, I asked myself what I would do if I found out tomorrow the world was going to end in a few months, and I just started writing around the basic idea that I wouldn’t have ever fully trusted that information.  I would have held out hope, and done something to ensure that if somehow my family survived initially, I could help them survive long term as well.

How realistic do you think the future you predicted in Returning Home is?

Very realistic, which is both sad and uplifting at the same time.  I often see both sides of humanity, that which tears itself apart, and that which chooses to stand tall and do the right thing against all odds.  If the world were going to end, I can definitely see factions of it fighting over scraps, fighting for their own futile gains, while others would continue to help those around them and try and build up a community that would fight for one another.

If you thought that the world was going to end, what would you do?

Prepare for it.  I’d try and make peace with it, continue to live as best I can, but I’d also make sure I had back up plans and provisions in case the world didn’t end.

Are you a prepper like Jake or a partier like Alicia?

I’ve been both.  I’m currently more like Jake.

What inspires you to write?

Yes.  Is that not a good enough answer?

Reading and seeing the worlds created by others through their words inspires me to write.  Watching the sun rise and set on my way to and from work inspires me to write.  Standing by the side of the river my family has camped near for over 50 years (now four generations), thinking about the stories that have come from that river already, and the ones that haven’t happened yet, inspires me to write.  Movies, music, comic books, work, comedians, memories, day dreams…

Who are your favorite authors?

In no particular order: Stephen King, Margaret Weiss, Dean Koontz, Mary Stewart, William Shakespeare, CS Lewis, George RR Martin.

What are you currently reading?

Stephen King’s “Doctor Sleep”

What new stories and anthologies are in your future?

I’m in the middle of finishing my NaNo project from this year.  It’s about a failed magician who finds himself caught in the middle of a battle between sorcerers and a faction that is trying to wipe out magic altogether.  His allegiance is initially to the magicians, because despite the fact that he can’t cast spells himself he still loves that world.  But, as the story progresses he begins to question the motives and tactics of the sorcerers and has to figure out not only where he stands in regards to the ongoing battle, but what he wants to make of himself.

That sounds awesome. I really look forward to reading it!

How can readers connect with you?

My main blogging outlet is http://thematticuskingdom.wordpress.com.  While I do tend to pop up several other places across the blogosphere I always link back to the kingdom so it’s good place to keep track of all my words.  And, I’m also on twitter: @matticusdj.

Image

8 thoughts on “Introducing Matt Blashill

  1. Pingback: The Joy of Faux, by Theseus Muchmoore Comfortable | butimbeautiful

Leave a Reply

