Image

Today on Paws4Thought I’d like to introduce author George Sirois. George’s book “Excelsior” was recently rereleased by Rocking Horse Publishing.

1. When did you start writing?

I’ve been creating since I was 9 years old in 1985, when I would kill time between assignments with my friends by drawing the most simplified robotic characters. We were inspired by Star Wars, Voltron and TransFormers and had a lot of fun creating one character after another. My first actual writing attempt came several years later, after I lost contact with my friends in school. I kept hacking away at those characters, expanding them, giving them more detail, fixing their backstories, etc. I filled over 200 loose leaf pages with a really long and complicated story that basically ripped off every form of pop culture I had been exposed to at that time. But I didn’t care since I didn’t see these stories going anywhere back then.

2. Tell us a little about your book.

The character’s been with me since 1992, when I wanted to come up with someone new to add to the little universe I had already started. After watching the John Boorman movie Excalibur, I wanted to give him a mythic flavor, someone who would wield a sword and would be a god being made into human form. He had elements of Jesus Christ, King Arthur and my childhood hero, Optimus Prime. In 2007, I was introduced to the concept of NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month, and I thought this would be a great exercise to tell the definitive story of Excelsior, since I set up the universe timeline with his story going first, and then that leading into the story of the characters my friends and I started back in 1985.

3. Who is your favorite author? Who is your biggest inspiration in your writing?

That’s hard to say. I’ve read more than my share of different books by different authors. I’ve never felt committed to one particular writer. I see a lot of positives and negatives in all of the ones I’ve read.

4. When you are not writing, what do you like to do?

I’ve been a movie lover all my life, and I’m very proud of my always-expanding DVD collection. I’m a sucker for special features on discs and I tend to watch those more than the actual movies. I also love following the New York Giants and Yankees, dancing West Coast Swing and taking long walks to clear my head.

5. If you could choose one super-power what would it be?

I’d have to go the Wolverine route and say an accelerated healing factor. Having that would really expand my horizons and make me a lot less afraid to do things since I wouldn’t hurt myself in the process.

6. What’s your guilty pleasure?

Music that was used in 80s movies. Those songs are so cheesy, but they’re so much fun to listen to, and in the right frame of mind, they can get you incredibly motivated. Try listening to Joe Esposito’s “You’re the Best” from The Karate Kid while you’re walking and tell me you don’t increase your pace. Also, professional wrestling. If it weren’t for that, I wouldn’t have come up with the concept of my 2002 book, “From Parts Unknown.”

7. Any advice for new writers?

Don’t stop. If you can’t stop, you’re a writer. If you care so much about what you’re writing that you think you’re a hack, you’re a writer (Hacks don’t care about what they write). Engage your teachers and tell them what you’re working on. It’s likely that they’ll want to find out more about what you have in mind.

8. Any new projects in the pipeline?

A lot is currently in the pipeline. I’m rewriting my 2002 novel “From Parts Unknown” into a five-part serial. Each part of the serial will be published as an eBook, and then the complete version will be combined into a paperback. And, of course, there’s the first of two “Excelsior” sequels, and once that trilogy is complete, I can move on to tell the definitive story of the characters that were created back in 1985.

 Stalker links

Facebook

Twitter

Website

Amazon

Goodreads

Excelsior

Leave a Reply

