Crazy?

Sitting in Starbucks working on a puzzle or at least trying to. It’s hard to concentrate. Just a few yards away is a guy talking loudly to himself or at least it seems that way. Not that many years ago we would have assumed he was crazy, would have assumed that a lot of the folks in this room were missing a few marbles, but today of course we are wiser we realize they are simply talking on their phones through their blue tooth devices.

What a strange world it would look like to the unsuspected time traveler and what a wonderful alibi the cell phone is for those who really have strayed from the course of sanity. Do we truly know there is someone on the other end of the line?

In my travels back and forth from the States to Israel and England over the years I have witnessed the worldwide spread of the cell phone. In city streets people walk in their own insular bubble, holding continuous conversations, the phone always present like an extra limb. 

I resisted the lure of the cell phone myself for a long time and today although I do own a little fiip-phone (not a smart phone – I definitely don’t want a phone that’s smarter than me!), I often forget to turn it on or else I leave it at home altogether.

I don’t feel I need to be connected all the time, you see – so hey, if you see me walking down the street talking to myself – well, that’s probably exactly what I’m doing!

Leave a Reply

